Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 100 uf capacitor voltage rating  (Read 1146 times)
Kent, UK
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

In the  Arduino example, a 100 uf capacitor is used.

http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/SFRRangerReader

I can easy buy a 100 uf capacitor - but I'm a novice at electronics and wondered should I be concerned about the capacitors stated voltage?

For example, should I purchase the 100 uf 10V capacitor, or should I be looking for a 5v or 3.3v one.

Kind regards,
Paul  smiley-confuse

Montreal
Edison Member
Per aspera ad astra.
View Profile

Cap connected to +5V line, so 6.3V rating should be fine. Of course, you can use cap with higher voltage rating, 10V or 16

KC4MM
View Profile

Good working practice is to use a voltage rating of at least twice the expected voltage. More is better.

Kent, UK
View Profile

Cheers.  smiley-grin

UK
Faraday Member
Where is your SSCCE?!?!
View Profile

The voltage rating on a capacitor is the voltage level above which it is likely to explode and get very messy.

The voltage doesn't affect the capacitance in any way.

As long as you stay well below the rated current all will be fine.  The closer you get to that rated current, the more likely you are to run into manufacturing tolerances and defects and have a capacitor explode, or vent.  I for one always use at least double the required voltage if possible.

Many modern motherboards have capacitors that are rated at just over the required voltage, and it is amazing how many motherboards die with vented caps.  You can always tell a vented cap - the top of it is bulging outwards.

For more information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague

Why not visit my eBay shop? http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Majenko-Technologies
Replacement for the Arduino IDE: UECIDE - Proper serial terminal, graphing facilities, plugins, overhauled internals.
Java isn't bad in itself, but it has enabled morons to write programs.

Austin, TX
Faraday Member