Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
Author Topic: I'm giving away 2 MegaMini's  (Read 2329 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ahh, ok, no worries.

I went and cut some headers for it today (not soldered them yet) and I just thought to myself:
Quote
So many I/O pins....
It's like Christmas!  ;D

Mowcius
Logged

Canada
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 138
Power Level is futile (if < 9 000)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

thats a pretty good quote for an arduino t-shirt don't you think?
Logged

DeKalb, IL USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 243
KB9SXU
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
for an arduino t-shirt

You mean the MiniMega t-shirts launching out of my t-shirt cannon?!  Oh wait.... time to make a t-shirt cannon!
Logged

Jeff K - JKDevices.com - home of the MegaMini

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
You mean the MiniMega t-shirts launching out of my t-shirt cannon?!  Oh wait.... time to make a t-shirt cannon!
Haha, if only we still had sigs. It'd make a nice sig quote at least.

More MegaMini pics coming later, I haven't got any closer to actually coding for it yet though smiley-grin

Mowcius
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Right, headers on (noticed you can only them on one side (the one closest to the USB connector on the left would hit the crystal if you tried to put them on the other way round.

First test, blink sketch on pin 13. Had to work out where pin 13 was but not too much of an issue. All seems to be working well.




Suggestions:
  • Move crystal slightly more towards the middle to allow headers (and connected cables) on either side. This is probably a right pain to try to fit all the tracks and other components around though.  smiley-razz
  • Tell me what the second LED's for, I thought it'd light up during upload but no...  smiley-wink Is it meant to?
  • Possibly sell with cables (an an option) or stock them in your store. 2x10 and 2x8.



Mowcius

« Last Edit: September 10, 2010, 06:21:45 pm by mowcius » Logged

DeKalb, IL USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 243
KB9SXU
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
allow headers (and connected cables) on either side.

Planned for the next revision... most likely will be a smaller crystal.  The first version had the crystal covering half of one of the holes.  So it is progressively getting better.  Initially I planned for the headers to only be installed the way you have, but the more I though about it, the better it would be to install them on either side.

Quote
Possibly sell with cables (an an option)

I have some ideas for this.  I don't want to just dell cables.  If it is something I am selling, I want it to be a little more sophisticated.  At a minimum, cables with a single row breakout on one end that will work with a breadboard.

Quote
I thought it'd light up during upload but no...   Is it meant to?

Yes it is. hmmm... I am pretty sure I tested those LED's before I sent the boards.  How to debug...

First thing to check is if I didn't reprogram the FT232.  You can download a config utility from FTDI's website that allows you to configure the CPIO pins of the FT232... CPIO3 should be set to RX/TX.  But now that I think about it, the default is PWR so it should stay lit if I didn't reprogram it.

Next, maybe make sure I didn't install it backwards.  If compared to the power LED it should be flipped 180 degrees.

Last thing I can think of is maybe that pin of the FT232 isn't making contact with the board.  I guess first try putting some pressure on the FT232 while uploading a sketch and see if that helps... otherwise maybe put some solder paste on the pins and run your solder iron over all of them. (make sure you have some solder wick on hand... just in case smiley-wink )

If none of those solve the problem... then maybe the resistor or LED is bad.

Thanks for the suggestions and hopefully you can solve the TX/RX LED puzzle.

One other idea I had was something I will call MegaMini Stackers.  You can have the option to get a MagaMini Stacked with some sort of shield.  Essentially it would be a board exactly like the MegaMini, soldered on either the top or bottom.  This board would then have something on it... gps, accelerometer, etc.  Kind of like a permanent shield.  Not sure about the permanent part yet, but I think you get the idea.  I like the permanent soldered idea because it wouldn't add much thickness to the boards.  Just 2 pcb's making an Atmega sandwich.
Logged

Jeff K - JKDevices.com - home of the MegaMini

Canada
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 138
Power Level is futile (if < 9 000)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Almost looks like those old IDE cables!  smiley-grin
« Last Edit: September 10, 2010, 06:51:52 pm by kraig » Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Initially I planned for the headers to only be installed the way you have, but the more I though about it, the better it would be to install them on either side.
Well I want them this way round with the USB port the right way up but it doesn't matter much. It does mean that you could have less on the 'bottom' of the PCB then, only the chip and some soldered ends of headers.

Quote
At a minimum, cables with a single row breakout on one end that will work with a breadboard.
Anything like that sounds like a good idea. Cables for when you want to stick it in a project. It is nicer to solder headers and then use a cable with connector than solder a load of wires into tiny holes on the board.

Quote
Yes it is. hmmm... I am pretty sure I tested those LED's before I sent the boards.  How to debug...
Thought it was probably meant to.
Quote
First thing to check is if I didn't reprogram the FT232.  You can download a config utility from FTDI's website that allows you to configure the CPIO pins of the FT232... CPIO3 should be set to RX/TX.  But now that I think about it, the default is PWR so it should stay lit if I didn't reprogram it.
Right, I think I'll give that a miss to start with then.

Quote
Next, maybe make sure I didn't install it backwards.  If compared to the power LED it should be flipped 180 degrees.
Yep, it is 180deg from the rotation of the power LED.

Quote
Last thing I can think of is maybe that pin of the FT232 isn't making contact with the board.  I guess first try putting some pressure on the FT232 while uploading a sketch and see if that helps... otherwise maybe put some solder paste on the pins and run your solder iron over all of them. (make sure you have some solder wick on hand... just in case smiley-wink )
I'll try this at some point.
[edit]No luck with this. All the connections look fine too.[/edit]

Quote
If none of those solve the problem... then maybe the resistor or LED is bad.
Maybe.

It's not a real issue. The computer tells me when it's uploading. I'd rather have it not working than spend hours trying to remove a solder bridge on the FTDI chip while trying to sort it smiley-grin

Quote
I like the permanent soldered idea because it wouldn't add much thickness to the boards.  Just 2 pcb's making an Atmega sandwich.
Sounds pretty good. I have thought of board sandwhich a few times, soldering some headers directly through an arduino pro board or something.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2010, 07:03:45 pm by mowcius » Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Almost looks like those old IDE cables!
Yeah but more expensive, they're something like £2.50 each if you buy them singularly  :o
Glad I got mine free (well the 2x10s, I need to buy some 2x8s or I might be able to get some of them cheaper.)

Mowcius
Logged

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
Jump to: