Go Down

Topic: Arduino and multiple vibration motors (Read 5460 times) previous topic - next topic

ProfFrink

Hi all,

Newbie here. I've been working with the Arduino for several months and I've been learning a lot, and I want to start by thanking everyone who contributes to this awesome community. Newbs like me are greatly appreciative :)

Now, onto my project...
Basically, I'd like to control multiple (probably 4 or 5) vibration motors with my Arduino Uno, with the ability to turn individual motors on/off at different time points. I've done some searches to figure out what this would entail, and I think I've got most of it figured out, but I've never worked with motors before, so I have some questions...

1) Based on what I've read, it seems I will need a transistor for each vibration motor. But how am I supposed to know exactly what kind of transistor to use? There are so many types, and I can't figure out which transistors are meant to be used in which situations. Here's a link to the vibration motors I plan to use: https://catalog.precisionmicrodrives.com/order-parts/product/307-100-9mm-vibration-motor-25mm-type
The motors are rated to run on 3V, and they draw ~130mA. Any suggestions for which transistor would be appropriate? I'm thinking maybe an N-channel MOSFET, but then there are still many sub-types, so I'm not sure.

2) Since these vibration motors are rated to run on 3V, should I use my Arduino Uno's 3.3V pin?  Or does anyone have a different suggestion for powering these vibration motors?