Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 12   Go Down
Author Topic: AS1130 First attempt - working  (Read 19982 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You got it.... smiley-mr-green




@Rob
Hello Mr Nomad! I don't know if you've read all this thread but I've sorted out the IRQ line problem. smiley-red  smiley-small
« Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 09:32:00 am by Hexadec » Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 126
Posts: 8490
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This is turning into a bigger thread than one of the famous "random number" ones smiley

I don't remember what the IRQ problem was now but but good that you nailed it.

_____
Rob
Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That's very true...but why connect them to a resistor if they are not being used?

The statemachine of the AS1130s at Power on pulls the IRQ line to GND so it's not really floating anyway. smiley-razz
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just noticed...3830 reads.... smiley-eek

I wonder if anyone is actually using this chip apart from us 3.... smiley-mr-green
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That's what I've done with my first test module...all the pullups are there but the RSTN and IRQ are not used.




I bet they're all using our ideas but are too shy to post.... smiley-twist smiley-twist
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It sure will... smiley-wink
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

URGENT probably for you guys anyway.  smiley-mr-green

I've just discovered that pin18 (VDD) is NOT connected to the other VDD pins.

All the others are connected together as are the GND pins (all of 'em)
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Okay

Please could you post here if you are interested in further developments with the AS1130 as I'm getting a bit frustrated with the Arduino method of development and debugging.

This is due to my lack of knowledge of the system, but I don't see any point in continuing with this if nobody is interested (I'll carry on but with a USB enabled PIC18F4550 happily on my own.)


Cheers.  smiley-wink
« Last Edit: November 11, 2012, 11:35:31 am by Hexadec » Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Wisconsin
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 4
Posts: 1001
I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I thought you were developing this on the PIC already.  Please continue it on your preferred platform.  I'll take care of porting it to the arduino.
Logged

Accelerate to 88 miles per hour.

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 126
Posts: 8490
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm interested for future reference but not currently using the chips so don't have a lot of input.

Quote
the Arduino method of development and debugging.
What is this, and why is a PIC different? Are you referring to the neat-looking PICkit gadgets?

______
Rob
Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

 smiley-mr-green No...I don't have any gadgets other than a PicKit3 programmer/debugger.

I'ts mostly because I don't have to stumble every time I want to change something using the MPLAB IDE. I know how it works and am familiar with it.

Also I can set break points and step through code, look at timing cycles etc. etc.

The main thing that got to me this afternoon was I couldn't figure a way of moving the data array into another file and including it in the path of the compiler. I want to get on with programming the chips...not learning to do something that I can do without effort in the CCS C or PIC18 environment and it has frustrated me for a while now that I have to scroll past 380 lines of data to get from the defines to the main loop every minute or so. I can't even move it to the end of the file because the compiler complains... smiley-roll

Now that I have 2 chips on the go I will have a data array which is double the size and I don't want to wear out my middle mouse button or waste more of my precious time scrolling up and down like an idiot.  smiley-mr-green

I will continue to learn the Arduino way...but at the moment I want to get on with my 24x11 LED matrix....
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 126
Posts: 8490
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yeah, learning a new tool set is a real pain, you just want to get on with the job but keep falling over stuff because you aren't familiar with it.

The standard IDE is way too frustrating to use IMO. That said you can split your code into multiple tabs, I've not done so (because I don't use the IDE smiley) but that should allow you to move all the crap at the top of the file. Try clicking on the small down arrow at the right of the tab area, that gives a menu with a "New tab" option. I assume you do that and move code across but as I said I haven't done it myself.

I feel your pain re the lack of proper debugging tools. I've been using LPCs for a while now and it's fantastic to have a real debugging environment. Maybe you should try the Visual Micro IDE, that's based on VS2008/10/12 and it's pretty nice. It does have debugging although I've only just downloaded it and haven't got it working yet.

http://www.visualmicro.com/

______
Rob

Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for the comments guys.  smiley-grin

I've managed to get the data into another file now, so I'll stick with it I think.

Aparently the compiler goes through the files and headers in alphabetical order...so you have to make sure defines and declarations are in the right place!

http://liudr.wordpress.com/2011/02/16/using-tabs-in-arduino-ide/

Oh well...still here for the duration.... smiley-wink



PS the VS stuff looks useful.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 03:08:52 pm by Hexadec » Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Update:

I haven't given up... smiley-mr-green

I now have a board with 2 AS1130s and a 24 x 11 Matrix up and running.
Still waiting for the rest of the LEDs from China.
Sync works fine.

Interrupts now work...I'm currently coding an example.

I'll post a video and the code as soon as I have it in good shape.  smiley-wink
Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Southport UK
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 1
Posts: 195
Been at it a long time...still learning every day.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well...

Here's the video anyway...I've had so much trouble with the I2C on the Arduino, I've given up on it for the duration and written this for the PIC18F4550.  smiley-eek-blue

My other 500 LEDs arrived today so I'll be getting on with the soldering and finalising the 24 x 22 Matrix code on the PIC, then if I can get it reliably working I'll port it to the AVR.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSDxH89JL20&feature=youtu.be


Sorry it's the usual crappy quality but at least you get the idea.  smiley-mr-green

This is AS1130 #1 providing the clock for #2 and it works very well. IRQs are still a little strange but I've got a handle on it now I think. smiley-evil
« Last Edit: November 20, 2012, 02:55:14 pm by Hexadec » Logged

Sponge.
I'm allowed to have it 'cos it's not sharp.

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10 11 12   Go Up
Jump to: