Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Upload okay but nothing is happening  (Read 1236 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

I'm using the following:

ATMega328P MCU + ATMega8U2 USB Controller
Compatible to Arduino UNO 2011
Key Features:
ATmega328 Microcontroller
Bootloader installed, ready to upload programs (sketches) from Arduino IDE (software)
Flash Memory 32 KB
EEPROM 1 KB

I have tried on both Windows XP and Windows 7.  I see the COM Port in device manager when plugged in.
So I select Com 5 or Com 3 depending on PC or notebook I have tried it on.  When I plug it in, the Yellow LED Pin 13 always flashes.

I have tried selecting different board versions(Deuminalove w/AT328P). The Upload looks successful, it says Done uploading...
There is a number 1 bottom  left corner of the screen, does that mean upload is good?

Even I tried the on board reset nothing happens.

All I'm doing is modifying the blink sketch, resave it, comment out the LED High so I don't see it blink anymore,
this way I know it's functional. I have tried Pin 9 and Pin 11, digital, it's always 0V.

I thought this thing was suppose to be simple to use!!!  smiley-eek

Getting desperate here.

Thanks
Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 535
Posts: 27046
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Post your code. Use the # symbol.

It is simple to use.  It's almost always operator error.
Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

here is the code. I just changed the Blink sketch pin from 13 to pin 8. I always measure 0V though.

Thank you for your help! Can't wait to get this moving along.

Code:
/*
  Blink
  Turns on an LED on for one second, then off for one second, repeatedly.
 
  This example code is in the public domain.
 */
 
// Pin 13 has an LED connected on most Arduino boards.
// give it a name:
int led = 8;

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:
void setup() {               
  // initialize the digital pin as an output.
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);     
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  digitalWrite(led, HIGH);   // turn the LED on (HIGH is the voltage level)
  delay(1000);               // wait for a second
 digitalWrite(led, LOW);    // turn the LED off by making the voltage LOW
  delay(1000);               // wait for a second
}
Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 535
Posts: 27046
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

In the IDE, select File:Preferences and click the Verbose output check boxes.

Upload again.
Move the spacer bar up on the IDE and copy all the red text at the bottom.
Does it look like this:
Code:
avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "C:\Arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM3
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv: 0 [30]
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x30

avrdude done.  Thank you.

The above is what I got with Blink and no board connected.
It will still show Done Uploading,  but the red messages tell the real story.
Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I tried both standard 1.0.1 editor and the ERW 1.0 1F version.

This is the feedback after the upload is completed.

Using Standard Arduino-1.0.1:

Binary sketch size: 1,084 bytes (of a 32,256 byte maximum)
E:\Electronic Projects\Arduino\arduino-1.0.1-windows\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CE:\Electronic Projects\Arduino\arduino-1.0.1-windows\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -carduino -P\\.\COM5 -b115200 -D -Uflash:w:C:\DOCUME~1\Qui\LOCALS~1\Temp\build7553264898449336378.tmp\Blink1.cpp.hex:i

avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "E:\Electronic Projects\Arduino\arduino-1.0.1-windows\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM5
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

avrdude done.  Thank you.



_______________________________
Using:  Arduino ERW 1.0 1F

Binary sketch size: 1,080 bytes (of a 32,256 byte maximum)

Estimated used SRAM memory: 11 bytes (of a 2,048 byte maximum)
C:\Program Files\Arduino\Arduino ERW 1.0.1f\hardware/tools/avr/bin/avrdude -CC:\Program Files\Arduino\Arduino ERW 1.0.1f\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf -v -v -v -v -patmega328p -carduino -P\\.\COM5 -b115200 -D -V -Uflash:w:C:\DOCUME~1\Qui\LOCALS~1\Temp\build5458390724478849930.tmp\Blink1.cpp.hex:i

Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 484
Posts: 18764
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

All I'm doing is modifying the blink sketch, resave it, comment out the LED High so I don't see it blink anymore,
this way I know it's functional. I have tried Pin 9 and Pin 11, digital, it's always 0V.

Read this before posting a programming question

You commented out the line that makes the pin high, and now when you measure it, it's low, is that it? What's the problem exactly?
Logged


Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Nick,

I tried several different things to confirm if it is functional.

1. I added comment to take out the LED High with the original Pin 13. The LED still keeps flashing when is should be off.

2. I then restored the blink file so it turns the LED High and Low. All I changed was Pin 13 to Pins 8,9,11.
   I measured the digital pins at 8,9, or 11 with the volt meter, it's always around .2V

So even after upload, nothing is happened.

Thanks
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 484
Posts: 18764
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The Upload looks successful, it says Done uploading...

Not if you got this:

Code:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Did you install the device driver for Windows? It seems odd that you can't upload on two different computers.

There is a number 1 bottom  left corner of the screen, does that mean upload is good?

It means the cursor is on line 1 of your sketch.

Quote
Compatible to Arduino UNO 2011

Where did you get it from exactly?
Logged


Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I get this message when no board is connected after upload

Code:
Binary sketch size: 1,084 bytes (of a 32,256 byte maximum)
processing.app.SerialNotFoundException: Serial port 'COM5' not found. Did you select the right one from the Tools > Serial Port menu?
at processing.app.Serial.<init>(Serial.java:191)
at processing.app.Serial.<init>(Serial.java:77)
at processing.app.debug.Uploader.flushSerialBuffer(Uploader.java:77)
at processing.app.debug.AvrdudeUploader.uploadViaBootloader(AvrdudeUploader.java:172)
at processing.app.debug.AvrdudeUploader.uploadUsingPreferences(AvrdudeUploader.java:67)
at processing.app.Sketch.upload(Sketch.java:1706)
at processing.app.Sketch.exportApplet(Sketch.java:1662)
at processing.app.Sketch.exportApplet(Sketch.java:1634)
at processing.app.Editor$DefaultExportHandler.run(Editor.java:2346)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

Sorry for the confusion. I had initial troubles with windows detecting the uno. I read somewhere, on this forum or another
to download the self executable which has the USB drivers built in. The file is:  setup_Arduino_ERW_1.0.1f_20120912.exe
After install, it detects the uno at least.

If i use the ERW IDE, I don't get the red communication error message, only in the standard IDE.

I got it from ebay.

Thanks



Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I tried further steps. I uninstalled the Enhanced ERW IDE. I uninstalled the USB drivers.

I plugged the UNO back in, it asked for drivers, I pointed it to the 1.0.1 drivers. It installed the drivers and shows up as
COM5 in device manager. Attached capture shows driver installation successful.

When I upload, I still get in red text:

Code:
avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "E:\Electronic Projects\Arduino\arduino-1.0.1-windows\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM5
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 115200
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

avrdude done.  Thank you.

Previous posts say this is user error, wrong drivers, etc.. I don't know what else to check at this point.



* usb.png (27.02 KB, 391x440 - viewed 11 times.)
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 484
Posts: 18764
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Do you have any wires connected to the Uno, apart from the USB cable, when doing this?
Logged


Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 484
Posts: 18764
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have tried selecting different board versions(Deuminalove w/AT328P). The Upload looks successful, it says Done uploading...

What board type are you selecting? With a Uno I would select the Uno board type.

It's possible your Uno does not have a bootloader installed, especially if you got it second hand, or not from an official supplier. This is hard to check with only one Uno there. You could get a ISP device (for around $20) which lets you upload the bootloader if it isn't there.

Example: https://www.adafruit.com/products/46
Logged


Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 29
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

Yes, you are correct, I select UNO now.

Finally a breakthrough!  smiley

I googled the error message: avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]

Other forums they found a pretty consistent fix.

For whatever reason, it does NOT work on COM5!
I changed it to COM9 like the other members and now it works just fine!

That was simple but sure took a long time to dig through.

I'm certainly going to be post back later since I really suck at code so
will need some help. I've taken C+ class before but I'm just not wired for software.

Thanks so much for your quick replies.
Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 484
Posts: 18764
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Glad it works for you now. smiley
Logged


Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: