Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: DS18B20 Temp sensor not working with arduino?  (Read 1364 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 43
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

My temp sensor is not working with arduino.  I have it hooked up right (I think). When hooked up the on board arduino led goes very dull, and then the USB connection drops out and the arduino is no longer connected to the PC.

When I pull out the ground or the 5V wire from arduino , the led lights back up and the board reconnects to the PC.

I am following these instructions: http://bildr.org/2011/07/ds18b20-arduino/

It is like it sucks too much power???

Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 651
Posts: 50845
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It is like it sucks too much power???
More likely you have it connected incorrectly. A picture of your setup would be useful.
Logged

Switzerland
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 112
Posts: 5281
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you connect the DS18B20 like the picture (3 wires to the sensor) shows you don't have to use parasite power mode for reading the values because you are powering the device constantly.
Logged

Lancashire, UK
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 9
Posts: 1991
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

A properly connected DS18B20 uses next to no power.  It its getting warm it is wrongly connected and/or possibly cooked....
Logged


Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 43
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ok here are some pics.



* 1.jpg (278.78 KB, 480x640 - viewed 83 times.)

* 2.jpg (232.79 KB, 480x640 - viewed 68 times.)

* 3.jpg (312.09 KB, 480x640 - viewed 47 times.)
Logged

New Jersey
Online Online
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 72
Posts: 3760
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Looks to me as though you have ground and Vdd the wrong way round - check the datasheet.

edit: maybe a mention of ground would be better
« Last Edit: September 24, 2012, 09:38:58 pm by wildbill » Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
****
Karma: 223
Posts: 12630
-
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You have reversed the GND and Vdd connections.

Edit to add: Oops, too slow!
« Last Edit: September 24, 2012, 07:28:48 pm by PeterH » Logged

I only provide help via the forum - please do not contact me for private consultancy.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 43
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

doh!  just testing you lot. lol.   will have another go when i get home from work
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: