Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Triggering a Pocket Wizard and adding a delay  (Read 1027 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I'm totally new to Arduino and I'm trying my first little project. I'm using the Arduino Button tutorial with Debounce (http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Debounce) and have successfully been able to trigger my pocket wizard by replacing the led with connections to the pocket wizard, but it stays on when I want it to turn off when the button is released. The LED light I tested turns off just fine when the button is released.

I would also like to add a slight delay from when the button is pressed to when the pocket wizard is triggered.

A pocket wizard is a wireless flsah trigger, which uses a standard 1/8" jack. When you short the top pin and ground, it triggers the pocket wizard. Here is a reference video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSSJNjfKDmI

Thank you!

Global Moderator
UK
Brattain Member
I don't think you connected the grounds, Dave.
View Profile

When you short the top pin and ground,
If you don't know what you're doing, then a simple reed relay to short the contacts would protect both your Arduino and your trigger.

"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

View Profile

I don't know what I'm doing, but I did just figure out the triggering. Now just trying to get the delay working...

California
Faraday Member
View Profile

I don't know what I'm doing, but I did just figure out the triggering. Now just trying to get the delay working...
It's easier to give you direction if we can see the code you've got so far...

Global Moderator
UK
Brattain Member
I don't think you connected the grounds, Dave.
View Profile

I did just figure out the triggering.
but it stays on when I want it to turn off when the button is released.
But not, it seems, the untriggering.