Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Using High Current ESC?  (Read 1058 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'd like to build a self-balancing vehicle and would like to use a brushless 48v 1000W motor. I know, brushed would be much easier but I run into the same issue, no controllers powerful enough. There are a lot of scooter ESCs that can handle the power and I'm wondering if I can hook up an Arduino to one and have reverse? I don't know how scooter controllers work, but I'm hoping I might be able to simply tap into the throttle lines. I suspect this would only be good for one direction though, unless I found one that has reverse already, even then I'm not sure how I'd hook up to it.

Does anyone know of a reasonably priced high-power ESC ready for Arduino input, or even a good schematic I can build from? I'm not an engineer type but I can etch and solder a board. I'd even be willing to try cracking open a scooter ESC to bypass or cut traces and then solder in some wires to the Arduino where they need to go, if anyone has some tips on how to do that.

Thank you,
Gyv

Shannon Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile

Sensored or sensorless BLDC?

[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

Phoenix, Arizona USA
Faraday Member
Where's the beer?
View Profile

Roboteq makes this controller (SDC2150NS), which I think would be adequate for 48V, 1000W (ie, 20A) brushed DC motor:

http://www.roboteq.com/brushed-dc-motor-controllers/sdc2130-sdc2150-dual-20a-brushed-dc-motor-controller

It isn't cheap, though ($225.00 USD) - but you're not likely to find such brushed DC controllers to be so (not sure about BLDC).

I will not respond to Arduino help PM's from random forum users; if you have such a question, start a new topic thread.

View Profile

MarkT,

I honestly can't say. I've asked for detailed specs and I'm hoping to get them next week. The motor I'm looking at is the Golden Motors MW16B, if anyone knows anything about it.

cr0sh,