Go Down

Topic: [SOLVED] Getting started with OLED 2002 on I2C (Read 3815 times) previous topic - next topic

tomahawk66

Feb 14, 2015, 06:44 am Last Edit: Feb 22, 2015, 07:17 pm by tomahawk66
Hi,

I purchased a couple of 2002 character OLED displays (ER-OLEDM2002-1_Series) and I2C 'backpack' adaptors. The displays use the US2066 controller.

I set the BS0/BS1/BS2 bus interface pins behind the OLED displays to the required 010 to interface with I2C, and connected the I2C backpacks using 16 jumper wires in the same way that I have connected to 1602 LCD's. I checked the I2C address as 0x27 using the I2C scanner.

Now I need to find some sample code to get this started. So far I have not had much success getting information about this controller.

I wonder if there is someone in our community who has experience with this display, and would be able to help me get this up and running. I am a beginner with Arduino (but I can follow instructions  :smiley-wink: ). I have previously successfully connected 1602 and 4002 LCD modules with I2C backpacks to my Arduino Mega 2560 R3.

I have attached photos of the modules and the relevant datasheets.

Thank you so much!

Chakko.
  :smiley-slim:

tomahawk66

And here is the ER-OLEDM2002-1_Series_Datasheet

tomahawk66

Feb 14, 2015, 06:49 am Last Edit: Feb 14, 2015, 06:59 am by tomahawk66
And here is the US2066 datasheet.

Thank you!  :)

Chakko.

tomahawk66

Feb 14, 2015, 07:23 am Last Edit: Feb 14, 2015, 12:06 pm by tomahawk66
And here are the datasheets for the PCF8574 controller on the I2C backpack.
I am not certain that these I2C adaptor 'backpacks', which I used successfully with 1602 and 4002 LCD's, are in fact compatible with these 2002 OLED's. If they aren't compatible, I'd like to find out where one could source compatible adaptors.

Zapro

You have misunderstood how to use the display. There is /NO/ need for the "Backpack" you have - the I2C controller inside the display is meant to be wired directly to your Arduino.