Go Down

Topic: Is Arduino above my possibilities? (Read 107 times) previous topic - next topic

lirianne29

Hello everyone,

I'm 18 and I'm studying psichology, so I have 0 knowledge on electronics, but I always liked to do stuff my myself, and also computers. Then I discovered Arduino and I've seen there's a Starter Kit.

Even so, I'm not sure if I would be able to learn something from Arduino. I mean, I want it to be challenging, but not imposible for me.

What do you think?

Thank you all for your time!

MAS3

Hi lirianne29, and welcome.

You said you have done something with computers.
What is that thing you've been doing ?
Is there some kind of programming involved ?

Arduino was started to be a tool to get to know about electronics and programming.
There's a lot of people from a programming background, starting so they will learn a bit about hardware.
And there's a lot of people from an electronics background who'd want to learn about programming.
It works both ways around.
I have more of an electronics background, but have played with programming simple stuff since mid '80's.

I think it is possible to learn about both, even if your profession will be something completely different.
But there will be a steep learning curve, if you want to understand all that is involved with it.

The beauty is that there's tons of modules you can use with Arduino.
You don't have to know every detail about a module, to be able to use it and learn from it.
Once you're playing and getting (moderate) results, you will learn and have fun while doing so.
You future profession requires an analytical mind, right ?
That will probably help a lot, you have to find a way to adopt that to electronics and programming.
The curiosity you show by asking this question, is a good thing.
It will help you to find new challenges and explorations in small things.
And you need these small challenges, which aren't too hard to solve.