Go Down

Topic: Questions about Smart Arduino library for debouncing switches and buttons (Read 531 times) previous topic - next topic

avandalen

Questions about the switch library can be asked in this topic.
See the article here:
Smart Arduino library for debouncing switches and buttons:

Coding Badly

avandalen

Do you have a Project Guidance question?

No, it's meant to collect here all the questions about the swich library.

azeo

swenodor

Nice work, Thank you!
My question is how to modify the .cpp, in order to add a Single-Click feature - this could be very, very useful!

The problem is that the singleClick needs to return a TRUE only when there is a Click && doubleClickPeriod is exired.

I thought it would be quite easy, but since I am new to the Arduino I didn't get it to work.
Cheers!

avandalen

Nice work, Thank you!
My question is how to modify the .cpp, in order to add a Single-Click feature - this could be very, very useful!
Use pushed() for the Single-Click feature.

swenodor

Use pushed() for the Single-Click feature.
The thing is that pushed() is good when you want to get just the Single-Click. But if you want your button to do one thing on Single-Click, and something different on a Double-Click - that's not an option - Double-Click will be made up from two Single-Clicks, and this would mess things up.

Of course, you can always fix this in the void loop() with some code, but having a singleClick() function is very handy.

Fortunately, I managed to get things working now - and given my coding skills, this should be considered a miracle :)

Here's the code:
(you need to modify the Switch.cpp & Switch.h with the lines commented with '// ADDED' or '// REPLACE' below, most of the code is omitted)
Code: [Select]

/* --------------------------------------------Switch.cpp------------------------------------------------ */
bool Switch::process()
{ singleClickFlag(); // ADDED these two functions
  calcSingleClick(); // ADDED these two functions
 }