Go Down

Topic: Smd temt6000 light sensors  (Read 490 times) previous topic - next topic

Emitter follower AKA common collector.
Thats the name where the resistor is in the emitter.

With the resistor in the collector its called common emitter.
That gives voltage gain with an inverted output.
Google is my fiend.

Jan 25, 2016, 11:24 pm Last Edit: Jan 25, 2016, 11:25 pm by Boardburner2
My setup looks like this:

That fritzing diagram is wrong , the yellow analogue lead is connected to ground not the output of the sensor.
Google is my fiend.

Jan 25, 2016, 11:44 pm Last Edit: Jan 25, 2016, 11:47 pm by Marciokoko Reason: images

Thanks.  Im still learning to read schematics.  I see my mistake.  My original wiring and fritzing schematic were congruent with each but wrong because they didnt follow the order of the schematic.

So you mean like this:

What about in the breadboard, this is what I came up with:

Im not sure if it makes a difference the order within the row?  Iow, does it make a difference if I put:

A. Emitter - Signal - R
B. Emitter - R - Signal

Jan 25, 2016, 11:55 pm Last Edit: Jan 26, 2016, 12:01 am by Boardburner2
That looks correct , are you sure you understand how the rows/columns are connected in a breadboard ?

One other thing, resistors and diodes normally come with adhesive on the ends.

1/4 in should be cut off them as the adhesive will cause problems for your breadboard over time
Google is my fiend.

Yes I believe I do.  Rows are all connected at every pin (1a-1b-1c-1d-1e-1f).  To connect rows I need to jump between the 2 rows I wish to connect (1a-2a = 1a-1b-1c-1d-1e-1f-2a-2b-2c-2d-2e-2f).

However my question remains as the order within each row.  I think its more a matter of not being able to visualize 3 things connected in a row.  If I see the row as a piece of wire and I plug:

1a = emitter
1b = resistor
1c = signal

how does that differ from:

1a = emitter
1b = signal
1c = resistor