Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Problem with servo  (Read 337 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
I am very new to Arduino and am trying as my first project to build a simple cat food dispenser. I've used fishing wire to attach two ends of a Coca-Cola bottle (with the top chopped off) - one end is static and the other end is attached to the end of a servo spoke, so that when the servo rotates the bottle tips over and cat food can slip out.
So far I've managed to victoriously overcome every obstacle I've encountered along the way, except for one: when I add too much food to the Coke bottle, I get a strange behavior where the servo rotates as I tell it to, pulling the string up and down several times through an angle of 35 degrees or so, but when it completes its final turn, it stops (as is supposed to happen) but then starts making a buzzing sound. At this point the distance sensor I've attached to the project (to detect if a cat is close enough to deserve food) stops responding to my hand motions. If I gently push the Coke bottle up with my hand for a moment, relieving the servo of stress, everything goes back to normal (the servo stops buzzing and the sensor becomes responsive again).