Go Down

Topic: Voice transmission with Arduino + XBee (Read 494 times) previous topic - next topic

Hi All,

I am Christina

I want to make a testbed of Voice transmission with Arduino + XBee with:
- Three arduino's with 3 shields XBee  : two as voice sender (microphone) /voice receiver (Speaker) and one as relay (2-hop Voice transmission with Arduino + XBee !! ). Also, two SparkFun Electret Microphone Breakout.

I've never worked with electronic stuff before but feel like giving it a shot. So, Can I realise this scenario!!. and which other shields that I need !! I need your advices to realize this project.

Thank you

Mar 21, 2015, 11:32 pm Last Edit: Mar 21, 2015, 11:32 pm by Grumpy_Mike
Can I realise this scenario
This is not a beginners project. Unless you have experience it will be impossible.
The problem is that the data is not transmitted in real time in an Xbee but in packets. These packets then have to be received, buffered and output in time order. If it is possible it is not easy. However I don't think it is possible. Do the math about the bit rate / packet rate you need. If you don't know how to do this simple math then you are not ready to do this project.

would it be possible for someone with little experience to do using Bluetooth, x-10, or any other technology such as wi-fi, or whatever signal phones use? Where i'm from you don't really hear a lot about Xbee anyway.

Thank you guys for reply I know that the maximum throughput achievable by Xbee its 2Kbps and this is low compared to the voice streaming. So, what's about WIFI by using YUN Arduino or using wifi shields !!

It appears this isn't a technology that the experts on here have experimented with before. I too am looking into this.

wochristina: if you find out anything that might be useful regarding this please post it and I will do the same.