Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Midi Controlled Cassette Sampler  (Read 2165 times)
Dublin, Ireland
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Everyone,

im brand new here and also brand new to Arduino. didnt know what it was until last week.

I am Music Production Degree Student in Windmill Lane Recording Studios, Dublin, Ireland.
I am in my final year and have to undertake a large scale project where i have to research and develop a physical product of some sort.
it makes up 33% of my final mark and i have till may 2013 to do it.

I have devised plans to develop a cassette tape sampler similar to that of a 1960's mellotron tape sampler but which can be controlled via midi

Cassette tapes can be easily modified to play short 7 second loops rather than 25 or 30 mins of playback.
if a single note of a violin for example is recorded onto this tape, this tape now becomes an endless sample of this note.

What i intend to do is replace the motor from a cassette player with a motor controlled via a microcontroller (I ordered a arduino Mega today) which i intend to be able to control via midi messages.

Ideally i want to be able control the speed of this motor so that it moves faster and slower, corespondent to a pitch, so this one not violin sample can now play a melody.

If this works, i then intend to duplicate this process a number of times with other cassette players so i can program them so they play in harmony.

I have literally no experience using electronics or coding but i am eager to learn and have plenty of time to do so.

just wondering right off the mark if anyone has any advice for me.

-Kev

Phoenix, Arizona USA
Faraday Member
Where's the beer?
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset