Go Down

Topic: Midi Controlled Cassette Sampler (Read 2900 times) previous topic - next topic

Ghosts

Hi Everyone,

im brand new here and also brand new to Arduino. didnt know what it was until last week.

I am Music Production Degree Student in Windmill Lane Recording Studios, Dublin, Ireland.
I am in my final year and have to undertake a large scale project where i have to research and develop a physical product of some sort.
it makes up 33% of my final mark and i have till may 2013 to do it.

I have devised plans to develop a cassette tape sampler similar to that of a 1960's mellotron tape sampler but which can be controlled via midi

Cassette tapes can be easily modified to play short 7 second loops rather than 25 or 30 mins of playback.
if a single note of a violin for example is recorded onto this tape, this tape now becomes an endless sample of this note.

What i intend to do is replace the motor from a cassette player with a motor controlled via a microcontroller (I ordered a arduino Mega today) which i intend to be able to control via midi messages.

Ideally i want to be able control the speed of this motor so that it moves faster and slower, corespondent to a pitch, so this one not violin sample can now play a melody.

If this works, i then intend to duplicate this process a number of times with other cassette players so i can program them so they play in harmony.

I have literally no experience using electronics or coding but i am eager to learn and have plenty of time to do so.

just wondering right off the mark if anyone has any advice for me.

-Kev

cr0sh