Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: arduino web thermostat controlled with android phone  (Read 15281 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 5
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

****** Updated version *******

Thermoduino Pro is the Pro version of my first android application "Thermoduino" and is used to control the  temperature in your house from anywhere.  The new version comes with a new arduino sketch which can handle timers which you set can in the app and show extra sensor info like humidity etc.
You need:
1 arduino Mega
1 W5100 ethernet shield
1 DHT 22
1 two channel relay card
some wiring
EEPROMEX  Library
DHT   Library
RTC   Library

some debugging knowledge smiley-grin

Android app
Arduino sketch
Please, leave a comment after download / install.



« Last Edit: November 10, 2013, 05:26:48 am by marque » Logged


scranton,pa
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 2
Posts: 48
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

nice,tried but hit check and get errors
Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 5
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What kind of errors?  Is it on your phone or on the arduino?
Logged


scranton,pa
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 2
Posts: 48
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

error: 'DHT' does not name a type
Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 5
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You dont have the DHT files in you arduino/libraries folder. you can download it here:
https://github.com/adafruit/DHT-sensor-library
instructions are in the readme.txt
Logged


Hoofddorp NL
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 6
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It would be nice to have a schematic of your arduino.
Not everyone knows how to build your idea.

And do you have the Dutch version on-line as well?
Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 5
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I quickly made some schematics. see he first post.
You like the app with dutch text labels? For now its not online, perhaps a future version is multi langual. If i have time i send you a previous version in dutch or you can use my other app that suports custom text labels and has nearly the same funcionality.
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,127770.0.html
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 12:16:18 pm by marque » Logged


Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,
Seems to be a nice project....

i am trying to test it but I received a lot of errors...
----------------
sketch_oct31a.cpp:24:22: error: EEPROMex.h: No such file or directory
sketch_oct31a.cpp:25:20: error: Avviso.h: No such file or directory
sketch_oct31a.cpp: In function 'void setup()':
sketch_oct31a:141: error: 'EEPROM' was not declared in this scope
sketch_oct31a.cpp: In function 'void loop()':
sketch_oct31a:280: error: 'EEPROM' was not declared in this scope
sketch_oct31a.cpp: In function 'void action(int, EthernetClient)':
sketch_oct31a:422: error: 'EEPROM' was not declared in this scope
sketch_oct31a:459: error: 'EEPROM' was not declared in this scope
-----------------
Where can I find the above libraries? Please help

Thanks a lot,
Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 5
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

the EEPROMex library with thanks to mrTeehttp://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?topic=115587.0

You can delete the line  #include <Avviso.h>
This an libray to send notifications to you phone. I commented out the code it uses but i forgot to remove the include line in the uploaded version. It has some nice function but i removed it because it needs a subscrision to "prowl" or "notifier my android" and because the sketch became to big to fit an arduino uno. More info can be found here: https://github.com/colagrosso/avviso. Whenever i recieve my mega (china post  smiley-sad ) i wil us it to let the arduino send a notification when the temperature in my house gets to hot and i can decide to open some windows remotely or close the shutters when its freezing outside.


Logged


Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Looks an interesting project. Do you have schematics?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I think I've found the pieces I ws looking for on other projects.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 35
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Nice - thanks for sharing
what exactly do the relays hook up to and what do they do?
This could be different for a lot of heating systems, and it is the core of your whole idea.
Logged

South UK
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 5
Posts: 585
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This looks great, can't wait to try it out!

I'm confused about the relays though, which one does what? I would only need one relay for my boiler?

thanks
« Last Edit: December 04, 2012, 11:44:40 am by dtokez » Logged

South UK
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 5
Posts: 585
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

testing now, but LCD screen is stuck on 'Getting IP'. I have assigned it the same IP that I use in other sketches and same mac address.

With the serial debugging I can see that is also stuck on Getting IP

have you seen this before? I have installed the DHT AND EEEPROM libs, I'm running bare bones with no temp sensors connected but don't think that is the problem?

Logged

Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 5
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Nice - thanks for sharing
what exactly do the relays hook up to and what do they do?
This could be different for a lot of heating systems, and it is the core of your whole idea.

With one relay you can switch between your current thermostat and the arduino thermostat.

The second thermostat turns on / off your heating system the same way your current thermostat does.

I uploaded some simple schematict in the opening post.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2012, 05:43:42 am by marque » Logged


Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: