Go Down

Topic: Uno and HCC4514B assistance (Read 303 times) previous topic - next topic

99Valkyrie

Hello,

Noob here.  I'm trying to use my Uno to test a circuit board that has 4 HCC4514B chips (4 bit latch/4 to 16 decoder) which drive a total of 60 outputs.  Each chip has 4 DATA lines, 1 INHIBIT line, 1 STROBE line and 15 OUTPUT lines.  Each output is individually addressable.  For now I used the blinking led sketch as a basis of addressing the specific chip and hence it's output.  It does what I want it to do but seems inefficient.  Below is a snippet of the modified code (didn't include addressing all output lines and but you get the idea; I know I haven't included how I handle the INHIBIT and STROBE function in this example but I think I have a good handle on how to):

Code: [Select]
int DATA3 = 13;
int DATA2 = 12;
int DATA1 = 11;
int DATA0 = 10;
int INHIBIT3 = 9;
int INHIBIT2 = 8;
int INHIBIT1 = 7;
int INHIBIT0 = 6;
int STROBE = 5;

void setup()
{
pinMode (DATA3, OUTPUT);
pinMode (DATA2, OUTPUT);
pinMode (DATA1, OUTPUT);
pinMode (DATA0, OUTPUT);
pinMode (INHIBIT3, OUTPUT);
pinMode (INHIBIT2, OUTPUT);
pinMode (INHIBIT1, OUTPUT);
pinMode (INHIBIT0, OUTPUT);
pinMode (STROBE, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  digitalWrite (DATA3, LOW);
  digitalWrite (DATA2, LOW);
  digitalWrite (DATA1, LOW);
  digitalWrite (DATA0, LOW);
  delay(10);
  digitalWrite (DATA3, HIGH);
  digitalWrite (DATA2, LOW);
  delay(10);
  digitalWrite (DATA3, LOW);
  digitalWrite (DATA2, HIGH);
  delay(10);
}

Here's the truth table for the chip:
D3   D2   D1   D0      INH   STR
0   0   0   0      0   1
0   0   0   1      0   1
0   0   1   0      0   1
0   0   1   1      0   1
0   1   0   0      0   1
0   1   0   1      0   1
0   1   1   0      0   1
0   1   1   1      0   1
1   0   0   0      0   1
1   0   0   1      0   1
1   0   1   0      0   1
1   0   1   1      0   1
1   1   0   0      0   1
1   1   0   1      0   1
1   1   1   0      0   1
1   1   1   1      0   1