Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Program microcontrolers without bootloader  (Read 747 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

I'm quite new to the Arduino environment, but I like it. Problem is that it's that big that sometimes I get lost.

What I'm trying to do it's like a PLC running with Arduino compatible microcontrolers, so I can program it using Arduino IDE, which I like very much.
Once we have the program ready, I do not need to modify it and I have to upload it to 20+ chips.
So I am looking to find a way to program easily the chips.

I suppose that I can do the program on the Arduino IDE, then save the hex file to my computer and burn it directly to fresh chips. It is right?

How can I do that? I found this http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/Programmer But I want to know which programmer do I need so I can program big chips so as the MEGA2560. And also if possible the 1284p.

Thank you very much for your patience, I will appreciate any guide or link or whatever to continue working on it.

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Brattain Member
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile

You can use NickGammon's method to program them,
http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11635
http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11638

or get a dedicated programmer, Atmel AVR ISP MKii, $34 at mouser.com
and within the IDE use
Tools: Burn Bootloader to get the fuses set correctly,
and then
File: Upload Using Programmer within the IDE to program them.

Adding these core files tothe IDE will let you load up 1284P chips as well:
https://github.com/maniacbug/mighty-1284p

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

View Profile