Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: anybody hacking the uno yet  (Read 1735 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Chennai, India
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 752
Peace!!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Anyone hacking it already???
« Last Edit: September 27, 2010, 11:25:42 pm by pracas » Logged

Be The Change...

SF Bay Area (USA)
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 106
Posts: 6367
Strongly opinionated, but not official!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I took the EAGLE .BRD file and changed the polygon isolation so that I could look at it better.  Does that count?

I have one ordered and supposedly shipped; I bet it gets here a lot faster than my TI launchpad.  Opinions about the degree of "suspense" of the announcement aside, it looks like the Arduino team did a good job of getting these to distributors in time to match up with the official announcement.  Good job.  (less so for the 2560, but nobody's perfect :-))
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just eventually downloaded the IDE (in 15 seconds) and I'm about to take a further look at some of that.

I have no need for a new board and many would say I have too many already. I will buy one at some point no doubt but not for a few months at least.

Mowcius
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 506
Posts: 31345
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The bit that interests me is the programmable USB interface it has. I downloaded the UNO intro video from Vimo, and Tom said it could be reprogrammed to be other USB devices like an HID but not a USB host.
Just ordered one from Cool components
https://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/catalog/checkout_success.php?osCsid=65bea4c10ec05d1df4094fba8ff767f8 their web site says the won't be in sock until tomorrow.
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
said it could be reprogrammed to be other USB devices like an HID but not a USB host.
Yeah I think that is the main/only thing going for it at the moment.
Logged

Seattle, WA USA
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 547
Posts: 45993
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Just ordered one from Cool components
https://www.coolcomponents.co.uk/catalog/checkout_success.php?osCsid=65bea4c10ec... their web site says the won't be in [glow]sock[/glow] until tomorrow.
Guess you won't be un[glow]box[/glow]ing it then.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2010, 08:03:05 am by PaulS » Logged

Chennai, India
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 752
Peace!!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Guess you won't be unboxing it then.

I did infact unboxed it last night... it comes with 6 stickers and 1 warranty manual all put in a nice little package. The usb connector seems to lock in - not sure if this is something new. but i hear a click when i plug in the usb cable. Will upload a video soon... no IDE for linux yet..

Seems to get programmed faster than the duemilanove. in the IDE, in windows, it still shows as com port rather than arduino, however windows detects it as arduino.
Logged

Be The Change...

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Guess you won't be un[glow]box[/glow]ing it then.
Haha  ;D
Logged

Chennai, India
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 752
Peace!!!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Here it is... not a proper one.. put it up in a hurry.

Logged

Be The Change...

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 506
Posts: 31345
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
won't be in sock
So if it's not in a sock it might be in a box.  smiley-wink
Logged

LOS GATOS, CA, USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 3
Posts: 180
The TinkerTech Blog and the MusheenShop
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Seems to get programmed faster than the duemilanove

The serial connection now operates at 115800 bps in conjunction with the new optiboot on the 328 data is moving much faster.

Plus I would imagine the pacing of the optiboot would also add to the perception, even though it should be infinitesimal in boot speed difference.

But the real bump is in the data speed transfer rate.
Logged

Kauai
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 36
Amani 64 CPLD Shield
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm curious to see if the ATMEGA8U can configure its own PID/VID settings via a user's firmware and external I/O...  for example a certain pin state means the board will appear to be a keyboard, the opposite pin state the board will appear as a storage device... etc.
Logged

LOS GATOS, CA, USA
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 3
Posts: 180
The TinkerTech Blog and the MusheenShop
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That was announced, in the release blog post that that would be a viable function, but wouldn't that be HID.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2010, 05:43:54 pm by ThatBozGuy » Logged

0
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 0
Posts: 511
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

so is the onboard mega8 programming the 328 via isp?  Can you "crank out" standalone chips from your prototype that don't need bootloaders?  I think that would make a lot of learners happy.

Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

the ATmega8U-2 is doing the same thing as the FTDI pretty much.
You still need a bootloader (it's now optiboot) so you're out of luck I'm afraid.

Mowcius
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: