Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Multiple Gyro Sensors  (Read 891 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey Guys,

I'm thinking of buying an Arduino and starting a project that uses multiple gyroscope sensors.

These to be exact: http://www.invensense.com/mems/gyro/mpu6050.html

I'm wondering whether I can connect multiple sensors on the Arduino without any extra parts?

Also can I connect this make of gyroscope in the Digital Inputs rather than the Analog?


Thanks for the help.
Logged

UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 17
Posts: 2884
Gorm deficient
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Those devices are digital devices (SPI or I2C), it would be perverse to attach them to analogue inputs.
Logged

Per Arduino ad Astra

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Those devices are digital devices (SPI or I2C), it would be perverse to attach them to analogue inputs.

So I connect those make of gyroscope into Digital. Thank you for the information.

How about power? From what I can tell there doesn't seem to be more than one power output and I plan to use multiple sensors.
Logged

New Hampshire
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 4
Posts: 179
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


So I connect those make of gyroscope into Digital. Thank you for the information.

Not specifically a digital but the SPI, which uses 4 wires to talk. Then needs a chip select line for each chip you want to talk to. Note you can only talk to 1 chip at a time, though you might only need to for a fraction of a second

How about power? From what I can tell there doesn't seem to be more than one power output and I plan to use multiple sensors.
well your gonna need around 3V for the chips, so with a regular arduino you might burn them out unless you do somethign to cut out the 5V of the arduino. An arduino pro though they make a 3.3v model (that means the digital pins run at 3.3V) that would be perfect


edit:
Also, for straight powering. even though theres only 1 3V pin on an arduino. all the Vin's on your gyro will hook into that. Ill use https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10612
as an example, since its a similar unit to what you want.

all the VCCs on the gyro (in this case on the breakout board) will go to 3 volts on the arduino to power the chip up itself.
All the GNDs on the gyro will go to the arduino's ground.
SCL is the Serial Clock, which connects to one of the SPI pins (read this about SPI http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/SPI)
Same with SDA and SDO (the data lines, they also correspond to the MOSI and MISO lines talked about in the SPI reference. More on that later
The CS pin is chip select. When this is pulled to ground, it allows data to go between the chip and the arduino

The last 2 spots on the board I linked are for the other interface you could use called I2C. I have avoided using that however so I can't help you use that at all.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 03:23:43 pm by Nikarus » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sorry for being a noob.

So how many gyroscopes could I have on a Arduino Mega 2560?


Wait, I think I get is now. I can connect the sensors in parallel along the same wires like this: (not really parallel but you get what i mean)


(Taken from: http://todbot.com/blog/2008/06/17/get-on-the-blinkm-bus-with-a-blinkm-cylon/ )

Then I can get the data from each sensor as long as they have a unique address.

Am I correct?
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 07:00:21 pm by zeeman » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sorry for being a noob.

So how many gyroscopes could I have on a Arduino Mega 2560?


Wait, I think I get is now. I can connect the sensors in parallel along the same wires like this: (not really parallel but you get what i mean)


(Taken from: http://todbot.com/blog/2008/06/17/get-on-the-blinkm-bus-with-a-blinkm-cylon/ )

Then I can get the data from each sensor as long as they have a unique address.

Am I correct?

Am I correct?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 5
Posts: 233
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You will also need pullup resistors on the SDA and SCL lines, usually somewhere between 4.7k and 10k Ohms.
Logged

New Hampshire
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 4
Posts: 179
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Sorry for being a noob.

So how many gyroscopes could I have on a Arduino Mega 2560?


Wait, I think I get is now. I can connect the sensors in parallel along the same wires like this: (not really parallel but you get what i mean)


(Taken from: http://todbot.com/blog/2008/06/17/get-on-the-blinkm-bus-with-a-blinkm-cylon/ )

Then I can get the data from each sensor as long as they have a unique address.

Am I correct?

Am I correct?


Close.
I... think, your showing them using I2C to get their data, which I personally haven't played with, but as I understand, yes you hook them up in parallel like that and then depending on their addresses, you can tell them what to do with the arduino. SO that should work fine (unless your near teslacoils ofcourse) Should probably just grab 1 of your chosen gyros first (heck you might be able to get a sample if you ask nicely enough) and get it working, then start chipping away at adding more. But like I said before, your probably going to want a 3.3v arduino rather then a standard 5V one, because even though your powering the chips from your 3.3V pin, the pulses of data on your I2C bus will still be sending data up to 5 V which can break your gyros.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: