Go Down

Topic: MFRC522 Library Cheap RC522 rfid Reader Door Unlock Project (Read 63219 times) previous topic - next topic

Addisonb

Hello Omersiar,
I want to introduce myself, my name is Addison.
I offered my apartment complex to make them a card reader to open the garage door and so as I started brain storming and I determined there were a few things I wanted. Then I stumbled upon your project and it's very close to what I am hoping to accomplish. I am going to begin contributing to the project in the next week or two, I ordered hardware, just need to wait for it to get here. My only thing is that I am still pretty new to git so I am going to do my best to not make a mess of your project. I think I might start a new branch for now.

Here are some of the things I am hoping to accomplish
-Card reader (obviously)
(I am going to add support for the Sparkfun RFID readers as I need 125kHz for existing tags and new cards/keychains are cheaper) https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11827

-Database of approved users
I wanted to do it on SD card because I need upwards of 150 users, I like the way you do it with filenames and then find the filename, I want to store more info in the file: "residents name" "apartment number" and such. I don't know if they should be tab, comma or line delimited yet.

-Web page for management
Because there are so many authorized users the "Master Card" programing method isn't a good solution for my case.
I love that you have started the web interface, I want to expand on it. I want a couple separate pages. A list of users in the system, sort of as a table with the UID, Resident Name, Apartment Number etc.
I'm imagining a checkbox next to each name or simply a button where you can select to delete users from the system. (If I get really advanced you may be able to sort them by column? We'll see how good my web development skills are.)
A field at the bottom to add new users (probably separate boxes for UID, name, apt # etc)