Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Can I output a value from loop function in an interrupt  (Read 646 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I'm new to using interrupts and am trying to figure out how to print the current value of a variable at a set time using an interrupt.  It's a simple oven program, and I want to output a measurement every 5 seconds.  I want it to be precise so I figured I'd use an interrupt using Timer1.

The problem is that I get the not so surprising error message of the temperature variable "not declared in this scope" since it's declared in the loop rather than the interrupt. 

Is there a way for me to print the current value of the temperature variable in the loop and output it in an interrupt?

Thanks for your help

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

Hi, I'm new to using interrupts and am trying to figure out how to print the current value of a variable at a set time using an interrupt.
You can't. Serial output does not belong in an interrupt handler. It matters not whether the interrupt is an external interrupt or a timer based interrupt.

It's a simple oven program
Which probably does not need interrupts at all. What is generating the interrupts of interest, and why is polling not sufficient?

and I want to output a measurement every 5 seconds.
Every 5 seconds is an eternity as far as the Arduino is concerned, unless you introduce a time warp (aka delay()).

The problem is that I get the not so surprising error message of the temperature variable "not declared in this scope" since it's declared in the loop rather than the interrupt. 
Whether it is surprising or not depends on where you defined the variable. A global variable is always available. A local variable is limited in scope. It isn't clear from your code (hint, hint) where the variable is defined (other than in the wrong scope).

Is there a way for me to print the current value of the temperature variable in the loop