Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: New to Arduino - Twitter to Motor Project. Please Help  (Read 213 times)
Melbourne, Australia
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Arduino, I have next to no experience, so this project might be a bit much, but what the hell hey!

I am wanting to do an installation for a graduate exhibition. My idea was to have a Jack in the Box powered by an electric motor which would run once a tweet was received (#tag or @).

So, just to break in down, someone standing at my stand at the exhibition is encouraged to send a tweet, this tweet would run a motor which would turn the Jack in the Box, then pop!

I currently have an UNO and a Motor Shield. I was planning on using my iPhone as the link between the tweet and the Arduino (Would that be good idea?)

I guess I am stuck at what would be the best way to do this project? In particular the tweet part. Would a bluetooth shield be best? Or is there a way to connect my iphone to the Arduino via usb?
Another cheat way I was thinking was having a tweet push notification (iPhone vibrates) which would engage an Arduino sensor to run the motor?
Another issue is the time between sending a tweet and the Arduino receiving it. (Can't really have someone standing there waiting for something to happen...)

Any advice or information would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks
Aaron

Melbourne. Australia
God Member
Freelance software and hardware development based in Melbourne Australia
View Profile

I have seen code that used to be able to send a Tweet from an Arduino, but I'm not sure if the library still works or whether it supports Push Notification style reception of Tweets.
So although this would be a really neat solution, i.e no external devices, I'd say it would a  risky thing to spend time on.