Go Down

Topic: Benchmarking the Due (Read 381 times) previous topic - next topic

semipro

I saw a post on an arduino forum that benchmarked the arduino due vs mega. I then decided to make my own that gives you a "score" based on how fast your arduino is.

Currently, it uses 4 different for loops, two of which simply test floating point performance, one of which tests trigonometry performance, and the last of which tests RAM write speeds(I am not an expert at doing this so reply if you have a better method). Then the program adds up the four times it takes to do the four tests and divides it into a large macro variable.

I would like to try this with all arduinos, but as I only have a due, uno, and micro that is impossible.

My uno got a score of 563.
My micro got a score of 559.
My due got a score of 3301.

This shows that the due is much faster than the standard arduinos. But when I look at the individual test times, the arduino due is much faster than micro and uno in everything except trig, where it is only about twice or thrice as fast. This is still much faster, but does anyone know why the due is so inneficient at doing trig calculations?

Here is my code(it is also on github at https://github.com/awesommee333/Arduino-Benchmark):

______________________________________________________________________________________
#define ITER 200000L
#define SCORE_DIVIDER 99999999L
#define UNO_SCORE 563L// I might eventually use this to guess which arduino you are benchmarking
#define MICRO_SCORE 559L
#define DUE_SCORE 3301L
#define MALLOC_SIZE 256
void printFloat(float value, unsigned long precision){
   Serial.print(int(value));
   Serial.print(".");
   unsigned long frac;
   if (value >= 0)
      frac = (value - long(value)) * precision;
   else
      frac = (long(value) - value) * precision;
   Serial.println(frac, DEC);
}
void setup() {
   Serial.begin(57600);
   long Millis=millis();
   long increment = 0;
   float f = 0.0f;