Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino Duemilanove "Hello World" Start Up?  (Read 984 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 733
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I think the arduino Duemilanove says "Hello World" when you dirst plug it in. Can someone please confirm this?
Logged

Holland
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 0
Posts: 439
Arduino likes cookies too
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Mine didn't, mine blinked the LED on pin13.
Logged

Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 733
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Mine to... Both of them... But it's not constant on - off - on... It's like dits and dahs...
Logged

Left Coast, USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 5
Posts: 499
Sometimes I just can't help myself.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
It's like dits and dahs

Well, did you look up International Morse Code on the web?  You can do that, you know.

Did the Duemilanove's blinking LED have a pattern like:
[size=24].... . .-.. .-.. ---   .-- --- .-. .-.. -..[/size][/b]

Or was it more like:
[size=24].-- .... .- -   .-   --. --- --- ... .    ..   .- --[/size][/b]


Or what?


Regards,

Dave

"Sometimes I really, really (really) can't help myself.  Really"
---davekw7x
« Last Edit: October 13, 2010, 06:31:27 pm by davekw7x » Logged

Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 733
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't know exactally, and it's gone now...
Logged

SF Bay Area (USA)
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 124
Posts: 6636
Strongly opinionated, but not official!
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I think the arduino Duemilanove says "Hello World" when you dirst plug it in.
No, it doesn't.
The following command searches all of the Arduino core code and bootloaders for "hello world."  It's not there.
Code:
BillW-MacOSX-2<3459> pwd
/Applications/.../hardware/arduino
BillW-MacOSX-2<3459> grep -ir "Hello World" *
BillW-MacOSX-2<3460>
Note that it is possible that the last sketch burnt into your arduino may have been something that typed "hello world", but it is not present by default.
Logged

New York
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 1023
E != m*c^2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Mine to... Both of them... But it's not constant on - off - on... It's like dits and dahs...

You mean your tx/rx led's are flashing? That's the bootloader talking to the usb.
Logged

Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 1
Posts: 733
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No. I mean both of my new Arduinos... I got 2 in today... Sorry, sould have neen more specific. It is the same thing (I think) on both Arduinos, on pin 13.
Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
No. I mean both of my new Arduinos... I got 2 in today... Sorry, sould have neen more specific. It is the same thing (I think) on both Arduinos, on pin 13.
Pretty sure this was discussed before.

New arduino boards appear to say 'hello world' in morse code on pin 13 rather than the boring on/off one second blink like they used to.

Mowcius
« Last Edit: October 14, 2010, 04:23:25 am by mowcius » Logged

Manchester (England England)
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 597
Posts: 33301
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It is actually the morse code for the number one (UNO)
one dot followed by four dashes.

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1286179398
« Last Edit: October 14, 2010, 04:41:30 am by Grumpy_Mike » Logged

North Yorkshire, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 104
Posts: 5531
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I thought some of the new duemilanove boards had 'hello world on' rather than the boring blink sketch or is it just the uno boards that have morse code?

Mowcius
Logged

Left Coast, USA
Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 5
Posts: 499
Sometimes I just can't help myself.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@westfw:
Quote
The following command searches all of the Arduino core code and bootloaders for "hello world."  It's not there.
@mowcius:
Quote
I thought...new duemilanove boards had 'hello world...

@retrolefty (from another thread)
Quote
Show the open source code or it didn't happen.

The bootloaders in the Arduino distribution do not put any code in program memory.  Nothing in the bootloader itself executes a "Morse Code '1'" program sequence or "hello world" either.

However...

When Arduino boards are set for release from manufacturing, apparently a sketch is loaded into program memory (also: a serial number is placed in EEPROM).

I haven't found any references to indicate what program is put in there.  Older "Genuine" Arduino Duemilanove cards apparently had the "Blink" example program put there.  I don't have one of the Uno cards, and so haven't been able to observe the Morse Code '1' that was reported by Grumpy_Mike (who, apparently, knows his Morse).

I burned the optiboot loader into ATmega328p CPUs on several of my homebrew cards.  Before ever loading a program of any kind, it gives three quick flashes of the LED and the pattern repeats after a second or so.  (I didn't time it with a stopwatch, and I don't really care).  I also put an optiboot-loaded '328p on my "Genuine" Duemilanove card.

I will mention in passing that the optiboot loader works just fine with the FTDI interface of all of my cards  In the Arduino IDE, I select Uno as the card type and it still uses /dev/ttyUSB0 on my Linux systems and the same COM port (COM7 or COM8 or some such thing) as it did before on my Windows XP system.  Not so much as a hiccup.

Anyhow, back to the Morse Mystery:

Vendors of cards other than "Genuine" Arduino Uno cards may put something other than the "didahdahdahdah" pattern of the Morse '1'.  I mean, if I were doing it, "hello world" might be something I would put there. That was my first example.

I kind of doubt that anyone would put "what a goose I am" (my second example) into their product, but I threw that in there as a possibility just because I felt like it.  (It amused me to do so.)


Regards,

Dave
Footnote:
If I were serious about this, I would make the LED blink a copyright notice (in International Morse Code) so that unauthorized copies of the product could be detected by Customs as they sneakily tried to make their way into the mainstream.  (But I'm not really serious.)

IBM did something like that in the BIOS of the original PC back in 197-something.  Their office suite looked for the IBM copyright notice text in their BIOS ROM and refused to run on a clone.  That was typical of IBM, but not very acceptable in the brand new (at the time) culture of Personal Computing.  I seem to recall that, putting it mildly, the IBM office suite was not a huge commercial success.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2010, 07:31:20 pm by davekw7x » Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: