Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: very noob  (Read 1714 times)
Poole, Dorset, UK
Edison Member
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

This is the first ever book on C, http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/search?index=books&linkCode=qs&keywords=0131101633 and as second hand copies are cheap well worth a look.

This article is not bad http://computer.howstuffworks.com/c1.htm.

Mark

Croatia
View Profile

AWOL, hopefully he revised his writing style in the last 20 years.
Holmes, you think a 35 year old book is still up to date? Well, I'm sure it is for basics, but in general, I would assume there has been some change in the approach to programming.

Tesla Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile

I got "C++ ALL-IN-ONE For Dummies" for $39.95, but haven't had time to read it. 834 pages with CD. Got to be a lot of stuff in there.

Consider the daffodil. And while you're doing that, I'll be over here, looking through your stuff.   smiley-cool

View Profile

I'm a noob to, or rather a retread. I found "Getting Started with Arduino by Massimo Banzi was a good start, then Programming Arduino by Simon Monk, then Arduino Cookbook by Michael Margolis. I'm also playing with xBees, and found Hands On Xbee by Jonathan Titus to be good. Got them all as eBooks on Kindle, so using the Kindle App on my mac provides useable inks--no typing!!

Oh, and I'm 66. I dove back into electronics and programming because I bought a quadcopter  www.multiwiicopter.com and wanted to understand it better. Now I'm working on an autopilot/rc steering for my open ocean stand up paddle board.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2013, 06:55:29 pm by ponobill » Logged

Poole, Dorset, UK
Edison Member
View Profile

Holmes, you think a 35 year old book is still up to date? Well, I'm sure it is for basics, but in general, I would assume there has been some change in the approach to programming.