Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down
Author Topic: Which one is the working Due version?  (Read 8761 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Put a multimeter on it &  buzz it out. Its not hard. ICSP only has 1 GND pin, its pin 6, opposite corner is pin 1.
Do similar with the JTAG header.  Read the schematic, buzz out for the VCC pin, go from there.

maybe a bit OT, but
on the pinout picture, it's noted that some gnd is for analog, some is for digital, so I guess, not all gnd is the same?, or?

And, no risk of destroying the board with my multimeter? (Wish I had an Logic Analyzer, but)
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 2
Posts: 35
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The file available on the website is the latest available design file for the Arduino Due.
As far as I know this is the file used to generate the production files.
I will investigate further and update the file if necessary.

Consider that the factory will apply some minor tweaks to our reference design before going to productions (usually with their own CAM software) therefore some minor differences are possible.

A possible answer for b) is that the factory normally has two stages of manufacturing, a first batch where many steps are still sort of "handmade" to make sure the process is smooth then they move on to large scale manufacturing where they might introduce some more tweaks (usually to make it easier for them to do automated testing, optimising the pick and place machine programming )

The Y2 oscillator is in the schematics but is missing on the actual board. May I ask why you removed it? I hardly think that the manufacturer just left it out to make life easier for them :>.
Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 517
Posts: 26268
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@neslekkim, for ICSP & JTAG, that will be digital ground for sure. Measure for continuity with the Power Header +5 & Gnd.
You will  not damage anything.
All the GNDs are connected together. I see no indication of analog ground on the schematic or in the board artwork.
There are three small areas of the top  & bottom planes that +5v and +3.3V. Every other part of the plane is just ID'd as GND.
This is apparently  a 4 layer board. One inner layer is a ground plane (with 1 signal trace!), and one is power plane (also with 1 signal trace!).  Mosty 3.3V, but also some UCB VCC and some 5V. Interessting.

Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ah, ok, I got a bit confused on this picture: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,128464.0.html
The GND next to 3v3 and 5v is marked as "use for analog ground"
Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 517
Posts: 26268
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That does keep it close to the Analog pins. But all the grounds are still connected.
Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Forum Administrator
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 52
Posts: 639
I find plain exciting
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

io53 i will ask
Logged

Germany
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 230
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just received two Due's in today.  They were ordered from the Arduino Store the same day it was listed online.  They both look just like the "current one" in the first photo.


Yes get the same today works like charme
Logged

Germany
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 230
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The file available on the website is the latest available design file for the Arduino Due.
As far as I know this is the file used to generate the production files.
I will investigate further and update the file if necessary.

Consider that the factory will apply some minor tweaks to our reference design before going to productions (usually with their own CAM software) therefore some minor differences are possible.

A possible answer for b) is that the factory normally has two stages of manufacturing, a first batch where many steps are still sort of "handmade" to make sure the process is smooth then they move on to large scale manufacturing where they might introduce some more tweaks (usually to make it easier for them to do automated testing, optimising the pick and place machine programming )


@graynomad
We're not ignoring anybody. you have to keep into account that we are bombarded by communications from all sided and it's not easy to be on top of everything realtime.

You seem fairly negative in most of your messages, is that anything we can do to cheer you up? smiley

m
That did not explain that the crystal for the RTC is missing
Logged

Germany
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 230
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Who has one with the RTC Crystal can tell me what on the surface so I can order me one by my self
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 2
Posts: 35
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Who has one with the RTC Crystal can tell me what on the surface so I can order me one by my self

I don't think there is a due that has the crystal. No one has reported that they have gotten one.
Logged

Nice, France
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 11
Posts: 237
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ah, ok, I got a bit confused on this picture: http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,128464.0.html
The GND next to 3v3 and 5v is marked as "use for analog ground"

Yes. That is more of a 'serving suggestion'. If you have a bunch of of-board digital circuitry, and also a bunch of off-board analog circuitry that will be feeding the built-in ADC, it helps to keep digital hash out of the analog circuits by using the GND pins right next to the ADC inputs as an analog ground. (Also by using  aseparate 5V or 3V circuitry, perhaps using screened cable, unity gain buffers, and so on).

On the board though these five GND pins are all commoned together. There is not an inductor-isolated, separate analog ground on the board itself.

The photo in that thead will be replaced by Graynomad's much more detailed diagram, so there is probably little point in my updating it to clarify the 'use for' part.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2012, 01:35:45 pm by Nantonos » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ah, ok then I understand.
Yes, the new layout looks like it will be very good, not that yours wasn't, but placing all extrainformation like what Graynomad is doing now is great.
Then it's up to all of us to check if it is correct.

Would be fantastic if some of the people behind Arduino also was a part of this..
Logged

Nice, France
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 11
Posts: 237
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Ah, ok then I understand.
Yes, the new layout looks like it will be very good, not that yours wasn't, but placing all extrainformation like what Graynomad is doing now is great.

I'm happy that there is a better version available to the community.

Would be fantastic if some of the people behind Arduino also was a part of this..

Yes. One could argue that they are in the best position to document these things and check them.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 01:36:43 am by Nantonos » Logged

Germany
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 10
Posts: 230
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset



Hey guys,

    I'm going to manufacture few pieces of Due PCB boards, but I'm really confusing about this above. The small chip 74LVC1G125DCK has been moved to left bottom corner. Seems that's the right position.

    The current EAGLE file released on Due production page matches the second one board in that picture. So it's not the latest one.

    Hope Arduino team release the latest one soon.

Best,
Tony

And the Story goes on,

I have buy just for fun an secound Due from ebay. And now there are the diff.



On the Due from ebay is everything the same, the box, the sticker and the package insert it looks in all way like the actuell one with all labels on the surface, except one part it has the Crystal for the RTC on the surface.

With this I have make an test I used stimmers Sketch for the http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,130125.msg980484.html#msg980484 RTC and put this in the void setup to use the external Crystal.

Code:
#define SUPC_KEY   0xA5u

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  SUPC->SUPC_CR |= SUPC_CR_KEY(SUPC_KEY) | SUPC_CR_XTALSEL;
}

So there we are if I used the internal RC the RTC lost 5sec in 1 Min so it is nearly 10% to slow with the external Crystal is goes sync with my PC clock.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2012, 08:42:03 am by Markus_L811 » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

and I don't understand why all of you get Due's with proper markings and even the jtag header soldered.

Seems like one is better off buying from ebay than through official channels, what a shame.
Logged

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up
Jump to: