Go Down

Topic: [ASTROPHOTO] Autoguiding using an old webcam and an arduino (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

wattevah

Jun 08, 2014, 12:50 pm Last Edit: Jun 08, 2014, 10:18 pm by wattevah Reason: 1
Hi everyone,

Just a quick post here to share a little project I finished this week:

Autoguiding using a webcam an an arduino

So if you know a bit about astrophotography you know about the need to have accurate star tracking. This is often achieved with a seperate camera tracking a "guide-star". As I'm a student and thus have little money, I took a shortcut and built a DIY autoguiding system. I finally got around writing the ASCOM driver for it, so I thought I should share this. As I'm too lazy to maintain a personal website, I'm posting all the info here, who knows, might be helpful to someone  :)

The results are suprisingly good. I was able to achieve 5 minute exposures at 300mm (450mm equivalent for full size sensors) without any trails. I think I'll even go towards 10 minutes next time.  8)

The setup:

• Arduino nano

• Polulu stepper driver

• Wantai stepper motor 0.9° 1.7A

• Old Eyetoy webcam (playstation 2 game) fitted in a 3D printed case accepting Canon EF lenses

• Cheap orion eq-1 mount with DIY plate for mounting a DSLR with zoom lens

• Laptop with PHD guiding 2.2.2

Some pics (click for full size) :

Attached are the .ino code running on the arduino, and the .exe is the installation file for the ASCOM drivers. The C# source code is included, you'll need a tool like MS Visual Studio (express is free) to compile the code.

EDIT: Added the *raw* source code for the ASCOM driver and the STL file for the 3d printed part.

Cheers !
Luca

robtillaart

Hi  Wattevah
Thanks for sharing!

can you share also the source of the ascom driver?

(many people don't like to click on an .exe file)
Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

wattevah