Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 10   Go Down
Author Topic: Billie's Hydroponic Controller  (Read 78176 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Billie,
Thank you for the fast reply, the code works perfectly now (on arduino 1.0 and 1.0.5).
I've PMed you to talk about my project without getting off topic here.
Charlie.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 11
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The only issue I have is sometimes the "buttons" don't work. Then I wait 10 seconds and try again. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't and I have to wait a bit more.
Hello Tiago,

The buttons react slowly. That's because of the 'delays' that are still in there. Just keep pressing the button until you enter a new window and everything is ok smiley-wink

Hi Billie,
Thank you for the fast reply, the code works perfectly now (on arduino 1.0 and 1.0.5).
I've PMed you to talk about my project without getting off topic here.
Charlie.
Charlie,

Glad to see you getting it to work smiley
Hope to see a movie when you get everything up and running smiley-wink

With kind regards,

Billie
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Billie,

On PH Settings, the setpoint and hysteris appear both as "NAN".

what am I missing here?

thanks,
Tiago
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 11
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Tiago,

Can you elaborate a bit further? NAN = Not a number?? Or what?
Do you get errors during compiling?


With kind regards,

Billie
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Billie,

this is what I mean.



right now the probe is disconnected, but with the probe the behavior is the same. I'm using your unmodified sketch (other than the pin for LDR)

+/- buttons on setpoint and hist don't work. Maybe because of this NAN issue.

any hints?

regards,
Tiago
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

anh... just hit me... I had a problem with eepromex.h and eeprom.h
made some changes to eepromex.h and probably that's where my problem lies.

gonna clean up the eepromex library.
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 11
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

First of all...Cool to see the controller being of use to someone smiley-wink

anh... just hit me... I had a problem with eepromex.h and eeprom.h
made some changes to eepromex.h and probably that's where my problem lies.

gonna clean up the eepromex library.
That could be it...When you enter the pH adjustment screen the program reads the values for setpoint and hysteris from eeprom...
You could also try and whipe the values stored in eeprom. I faintly remember having problems in the beginning because wrong values stored in eeprom...
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 03:53:59 pm by BillieBricks » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 33
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Real neat controller Billie!!

Great work on setting up your hydro setup. It's amazing how many plants you have squeezed into that space. It's great to see other projects and share the knowledge. Looks like there are a few people interested in controlling their own food production.

I just have one constructive feedback on the plant physiology side of things. If your able, you should really incorporate EC/CF control. Although pH controls nutrient uptake, nutrient availability is equally important. EC is a great tool for controlling, among others, such things as internode stretching, hardiness and taste. You can also control visual aspects such as cracking/splitting with EC control (particularly important with tomatoes). I think you'll have better control of plant size, especially during seasonal changes (i.e. winter vs summer ).

I'm making a similar controller using a mega connected to a raspberry pi with a 10 inch touch screen controlled by a website.

Anyway, that's my 2c worth, I look forward to your future releases!

Regards,
Damian
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

@Billie

Spot On!
clearing the eeprom has done it smiley Wouldn't have thought of that.

thanks,
Tiago
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Billie, now that it's setup, the issues begin smiley

Regarding the LDR in you sketch you have int lightSensor = 60; I can't get any readings on light (it's only bouncing between 24,25,26) no matter the actual light condition. I know the LDR works because if I set the lightsensor to pin 14 it gives me a range 250~32000 (32000 with the phone led flash next to the ldr). Any hints?

Also would love to know if you have any newer version as this is already a couple months old and you probably have tweaked it already for some issues encountered along the way.

I'm going to kickstart my NFT test project


best regards,
Tiago
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 11
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I just have one constructive feedback on the plant physiology side of things. If your able, you should really incorporate EC/CF control. Although pH controls nutrient uptake, nutrient availability is equally important. EC is a great tool for controlling, among others, such things as internode stretching, hardiness and taste. You can also control visual aspects such as cracking/splitting with EC control (particularly important with tomatoes). I think you'll have better control of plant size, especially during seasonal changes (i.e. winter vs summer ).
Hey Damien,

Thank you! smiley
I already measure the EC value but for now with a pen instead of using the controller. I couldn't find a good priced EC module to put in the controller...
EC control is very important, I know. To high and the plants don't grow well and to low and the same happens. For my peppers I let the EC value swing from 1.8 to 2.4 depending on the weather conditions.
In the new controller EC measurement will be incorporated. But as stated earlier I'm still learning how to use Eagle, so making the new board will have to wait until I and my finances are ready to do so smiley-wink

Hi Billie, now that it's setup, the issues begin smiley

Regarding the LDR in you sketch you have int lightSensor = 60; I can't get any readings on light (it's only bouncing between 24,25,26) no matter the actual light condition. I know the LDR works because if I set the lightsensor to pin 14 it gives me a range 250~32000 (32000 with the phone led flash next to the ldr). Any hints?
Maybe there's a problem with your A4 pin..?? Do you mean you use A14 = 68? If so then use that pin smiley-wink

Also would love to know if you have any newer version as this is already a couple months old and you probably have tweaked it already for some issues encountered along the way.
Nope, no new version to be tested until this season is over. I don't want to risk my harvest by overdosing at the moment. This winter I'll be recoding the device to suit the new hardware (EC, new screen, ethernet module).


I'm going to kickstart my NFT test project
Nice setup!! smiley-grin

With kind regards,

Billie
Logged

Toronto
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It would be a big help if you could show us a wiring schematic for your setup, it looks nice!
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 11
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Are these simple enough? smiley-grin
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

congratulations for your perfect project!
I want to make an automation to control the electrical windows of my greenhouse via sms
and i want to ask you if this touchscreen is readable on sunlight conditions.

Another question i have is : Do you think that this system will work stable on real conditions on a greenhouse?
My greenhouse is about  5000 m2 ,with high temps.

Sorry for my english  smiley-cool
Logged

Belgium
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 11
Posts: 94
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

congratulations for your perfect project!
Thank you very much! I did my best at the time, probably could do a better job programming it, but as you say it works so...Call me lazy smiley-wink


I want to make an automation to control the electrical windows of my greenhouse via sms
and i want to ask you if this touchscreen is readable on sunlight conditions.
When the sun is shining directly on it it's difficult to read the screen...

Another question i have is : Do you think that this system will work stable on real conditions on a greenhouse?
My greenhouse is about  5000 m2 ,with high temps.
It works stable, although you probably will need to buy better pH probes then the one's I've used. Also and this is an important one. Make sure the controller is shaded. High temperatures will mess up the stability of the device. Next year I will be installing it outside of the greenhouse in a waterproof housing and in the shade...

Have fun and if you got it working post some pictures here!! smiley-grin
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 9 10   Go Up
Jump to: