Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Truck Underbody and Footwell Lighting Project  (Read 757 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and before I start I would like to just say a little about myself. I have been an electrician for almost 8 years now, so schematics, diagrams, electronic components, etc, etc, are not foreign to me, what is foreign to me, however, is the arduino and its affiliated programming software. I have been reading quite alot of forum posts here to reduce the chances of me asking a question that was just answered 5 minutes ago in another thread, but if that happens, please forgive me... I tried  smiley-razz. Anyways, below is a block diagram of my project. From reading and searching through other posts, I believe it will work on a hardware level; I am not getting into the programming side yet. If anything is amiss, could be done better, or is just flat out wrong, please, please let me know.

What's going to control what
Its pretty straightforward, the 0-12vdc PWM input (which I will intercept from my trucks dome light) will simply be mirrored to the footwell lights output. Whenever the dome light times out and dims, I would like the footwell lights to do so also (I may add more control later, hence why its only mirroring now). The three 0 or 12vdc inputs will control the underbody lights. The underbody output will be PWM simply for fading in/fading out purposes.

Optocouplers
The schematic I plan on using for the optocouplers can be found here under "method 2". I found this schematic after I found out that the arduino only accepts 0-5v for its inputs.

12vdc power conditioner