Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: advice on wiring a photoresistor please  (Read 1221 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I'm pretty new in electronics (decades of experience in computing, but close to 0 in electronics, this has to change!).

I read this page which does not say much: http://www.libelium.com/squidbee/index.php?title=Adding_a_light_sensor

Why is there a 1K resistor in it?

Why is it a 1K resistor and not a different one?

Why is the resistor at the top and the sensor at the bottom and not the other way around?

I must be missing some basic knowledge, please help me.

I hope I can help others when I get better. For now I'll browse this forum for computing questions I can answer

Edison Member
View Profile

the 1k resistor is to simply limit the current, the LDR (Light Diode Resistor) is also acting as a resistor, the difference is, the 1k resistor will always be 1k, while the LDR can vary from a few Ohms in bright light or a 100K - into the Millions depending on the manufacturer.

As the LDR gets less light (more resistance), the more of a voltage drop across the LDR (higher the analog in read value to the Arduino).

swap the 1k and LDR around, and you'll have the opposite happens... (in an analog circuit, you'd have it go to a transistor to switch an LED on, in which case swapping around would simply mean having the transistor switch on with a LOW light level or the other way round, have the transistor switch on when it's Bright.

Ohms law will explain this.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2012, 03:41:17 am by cjdelphi » Logged

Edison Member
View Profile

http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/trancirc.htm

if you look at the attached image, you can see how swapping the LDR around you can get 2 different things happening "on when dark" or "on when Light"

* LDRReistor.png (329.52 KB, 1920x1080 - viewed 33 times.)

View Profile

Thanks cjdelphi, it's slowly becoming clearer.