Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
Author Topic: Displaying problems with DS18B20  (Read 3183 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello, the image is not from my project, I have 16x2 LCD


myu project without DS18B20


And with the last code, the simple one, only display and DS18B20









Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13531
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

can you post an image of the backside of the panel?
Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Voltage is 4.95v(read with an inferior class voltmeter-cat2, if you need accurate readings let me know to looc for a cat3)
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The back side of the LCD?


« Last Edit: October 27, 2012, 05:14:50 pm by crimson » Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13531
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

it was to see the soldering points, sometimes strange chars are caused by wires that short(?) every now and then. Although not sharp it looks like the soldering is not the issue here.

4.95 Volt seems high enough,

I still have the feeling it is some hardware failure as there is an image in which the 75 is in the right place but the rest is wrong. That implies that the bytes are send well to the LCD. Do you have another LCD to test if the cause is in the LCD (+wiring) or in the Arduino + temp sensors?
Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I have checked the soldering in the early stages, and there are no "shorts", I can display anything on it without a problem, what bugs me is this:
If I initialize the display with anything else but the DS the screen stays blank as normal, but when the screen is initialized with the DS code it starts all lit up, and then starts displaying random chars even though in the code there is no code for printing something on it... as if the code for the DS is pushing data to the display...

unfortunately I do not have another display for the moment...

update, if I initialize the example for DS without any display code the display lights up and stays lit if sensors are presnt, if they are not present the display stays blank as normal, it's as if the DS code is pushing data to the display.. I'm clueless as of what could cause this
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 04:22:43 am by crimson » Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13531
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


another idea:
Could there be a conflict between the Dallas lib and the LCD lib? shared pin or so?

which version of the dallas lib are you using?
Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,
tried o couple of different Dallas Temperature Control Library....

right now:
Dallas Temperature Control Library.
VERSION 3.7.2 BETA

onewhire
Version 2.1: Arduino 1.0


liquidCrystal
the default that came with arduino 1.01
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello,

Tried arduino023 with 3.3 Dallas, it's only influencing the first line of the display, if I do not initialize it it first line stays all lit up, if i initialize it it's pushing characters to the first line mostly fffff

Dallas 220, same thing as above...

ok, back 1.0.1
different sensor,

Code:
#include <OneWire.h>
#include <DallasTemperature.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal.h>


LiquidCrystal lcd(12, 11, 40, 42, 44, 46);
// Data wire is plugged into port 22 on the Arduino
#define ONE_WIRE_BUS 22
#define TEMPERATURE_PRECISION 12
// Setup a oneWire instance to communicate with any OneWire devices (not just Maxim/Dallas temperature ICs)
OneWire oneWire(ONE_WIRE_BUS);

// Pass our oneWire reference to Dallas Temperature.
DallasTemperature sensors(&oneWire);
//DeviceAddress  insideThermometer = { 0x28, 0xCE, 0xE4, 0xA7, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00, 0x9C };
//DeviceAddress  outsideThermometer = { 0x28, 0xAB, 0x8E, 0x50, 0x04, 0x00, 0x00, 0x95 };
DeviceAddress insideThermometer = {0x28, 0x42, 0xD6, 0xA7, 0x03, 0x00, 0x00, 0x0C};
void setup(void)
{
  // start serial port
  Serial.begin(9600);
   lcd.begin(16, 2);
    lcd.clear();
  Serial.println("Dallas Temperature IC Control Library Demo");

  // Start up the library
  sensors.begin();
  sensors.setResolution(insideThermometer, TEMPERATURE_PRECISION);
  //sensors.setResolution(outsideThermometer, TEMPERATURE_PRECISION);
}

void loop(void)
{
  // call sensors.requestTemperatures() to issue a global temperature
  // request to all devices on the bus
  Serial.print("Requesting temperatures...");
  sensors.requestTemperatures(); // Send the command to get temperatures
  delay(3000);
  Serial.println("DONE");
 float temp1=sensors.getTempC(insideThermometer);
// float temp2=sensors.getTempC(outsideThermometer);
 delay(3000);
  Serial.print("Temperature for the device 1 (index 0) is: ");
  //Serial.println(sensors.getTempCByIndex(0));
 Serial.println(temp1);
// Serial.print("Temperature for the device 2 (index 1) is: ");
 //Serial.println(temp2);
 lcd.clear();
 lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
 lcd.print(temp1);
// lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
 //lcd.print(temp2);
 delay(2000);
}


uploaded the code, it displays bogus starting with 2nd half of 2nd line moning from right to left until it fills 2nd line, then first line, after this cicle it behaves normal... displaying normal temp as in the code on 1st line
if I open serial during bogus the lcd resets and behaves normal...
« Last Edit: October 28, 2012, 05:59:29 am by crimson » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 14
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

same code same display, different sensor and arduino mega board, everything works like a charm
any idea of what could be causing the problem above?
Logged

Global Moderator
Netherlands
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
*****
Karma: 212
Posts: 13531
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, however in practice there are many...
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Bad wiring ?
Logged

Rob Tillaart

Nederlandse sectie - http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/board,77.0.html -
(Please do not PM for private consultancy)

Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
Jump to: