Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 5V Pin Current rateing?  (Read 611 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I am a EE student new to microcontrollers. I am working with the mega 2560, anyone know what the current limitation is for the 5 V input pin ?

Thank you

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Faraday Member
Baldengineer
View Profile

Depends on the input source.

Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.c

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Brattain Member
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile

If USB is the source, you have 500mA total between the board and the IO pin.

If Barrel jack is the source, then you have 800mA total between the board and the IO pin - and you may not reach that if the input voltage is high and regulator is dissipating a lot of heat: use a 7.5V source max if you have one.

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Anaheim CA.
Faraday Member
View Profile