Go Down

Topic: Adapting ButtonStateChange code (Read 340 times) previous topic - next topic

beperron

Greetings: 

I am new to Arduino and working through various examples with my Arduino board, with a Sparkfun Inventor's kit, although I am still a long way off from being an inventor!  Regarding my problem, I have successfully cmopleted the ButtonStateChange example on the Arduino site, with the various tutorials.  Here is a link to the full set of code:  http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ButtonStateChange.  It is working exactly the way it should be.

Right now, when the button is pushed, the number of button pushes are being logged.  But, now I want to make a slight adaptation, and I am hoping somebody might be able to assist.  Here is my intermediary goal (I have a few other things to do subsequent to the following changes, but right now it is just working out this problem): 

1.  When the button is pushed, I would like the light to remain on for 15 minutes.  I am trying to work on some delay procedure to make this happen but I am not quite sure if this is the right approach.

2.  I want to continue recording the number of times the button is pushed, but I do not want any action to take place during the 15 minutes that the light is on.  In other words, if the button is pushed, it should record that it is pushed, and the light should remain on for 15 minutes.  However, if the button is pushed again while the light is on, I do not want that event recorded, and the light needs to remain on for the remainder of that original 15 minute interval.

3.  When the 15 minute interval is over, I would like the light to go off and have the system wait until the button is pushed again.

Here is the snippet of the loop code, and the full code can be found at the aforementioned link:

Code: [Select]

void loop() {
  // read the pushbutton input pin:
  buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

// compare the buttonState to its previous state
  if (buttonState != lastButtonState) {