Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: University Project Arduino  (Read 650 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi guys, I'm new to all the Arduino based projects and have been studying many tutorials based on the Arduino Uno board. I don't want someone to spoon feed me the information but require information on a project I am about to start for example what equipment I require to make the project work.

The idea of my project is (The tutor has said that the project is practical to finish within the 12 week deadline);

When you have a suitcase with two wheels and say your suitcase is filled to the top and is really heavy to pull, I'd like to design a system using the Arduino Uno that makes the wheels on the suitcase to spin so that it makes it easier for the user to pull the suitcase with the help of the suitcase wheels spinning using a motor that is connected to the Arduino Uno board.

For the project, I know I require a Arduino Uno board (of course) and also a pressure sensor, motor and suitcase wheels but what other components will be required to make this project successful?

Your guys help would be much appreciated.

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

The Arduino can not directly drive a motor. For that, you need some kind of transistor to switch some external power supply that powers the motor. If you want speed control, and to be able to run the motors in both directions (helpful when the line backs up), then you need an H-bridge. Buying one pre-made is generally better than trying to build your own.

The pressure sensor is, I presume, to determine how heavy the suitcase is, so you know how much help to supply. I'd think that something in the handle to sense when the suitcase is being pulled or pushed would be useful, too.

Shannon Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile