Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: avrdude:stk500:_getsync():not in sync:  (Read 4144 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi I'm running 2 boards a USB Droid which works fine with the robot I've built and other projects and a UNO which recently started showing the following message - avrdude: stk500_get sync(): not in sync: resp = 0x00 ....... I'm able to choose the board Tools > Serial >com port 3 . verify & upload then the avrdude message is shown? The Blink code from examples won't upload either? none of the example code will upload at all, shows avrdude message every time. I'm running 1.0.2 (which is what I'm currently using) and have 1.0.1 still installed the problem persists with both versions if any one has experience with this sort of issue/can explain what's happening, help resolving this would be greatly apprieceated.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 4
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
Have you tried the loopback test mentionned here http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,73748.0.html ?
What is the result ?
Is the led "L" blinking a few times when you reset your board ?
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 5
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I started having this issue today after operating fine for the last week. Tried the loop back and that workd fine. but will not program the UNO 3.
 My message is similar:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x30

no tx or rx leds when upload is started
need help!
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi thanks for the info, I tried the loop back instructions on the UNO I was having trouble with, nothing was echoed back via the serial monitor when testing the UNO also tested another board a USB DROID ( to check I was doing the test correctly) which worked fine. D13 LED does blink/flash a few times when reset is pressed after the test ie. jumpers removed,  From this do I draw the conclusion that the UNO is dead or is there something else that can be done to resolve this issue? 
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 10:18:18 pm by elve96 » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 35
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I had this issue a couple of times and l it happened while unplugging and giving power to the arduino while other things plugged in.  I had to restart the computer this fixed it in both of my cases.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The problem is that the com port has changed. Check the Device Manager then check the compiler Tools/Serial Port; they should be the same.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 3
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i have same proplem on my Arduino Ethernet W/ PoE + USB2SERIAL
did i wrong something
i am new user

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/20/51940081.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/836/90534893.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/842/36954762.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/837/31485949.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/109/51321687.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/42/dsc0056kbh.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/443/dsc0057ph.jpg/

hmm now i see this page http://scuola.arduino.cc/en/content/getting-started-arduino-ethernet
i download two file and  i replaced boards.txt file  form \arduino\arduino-1.5.2\hardware\arduino\avr
IDE 0022 or older  http://scuola.arduino.cc/sites/arduino/files/boards.txt.zip
IDE 1.0 Beta         http://scuola.arduino.cc/sites/arduino/files/boards1.txt.zip
and than i have new error ^^

processing.app.debug.RunnerException
   at processing.app.debug.BasicUploader.burnBootloader(BasicUploader.java:288)
   at processing.app.Editor$47.run(Editor.java:2524)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:209)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:597)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:269)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:184)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:174)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:169)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:161)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:122)

IDE 0022 or older,  IDE 1.0 Beta these two items exactly give same error
« Last Edit: March 22, 2013, 07:56:28 am by morvii » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 9
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi morvii

Have you tried the loopback test as mentioned above? if not go to http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,73748.0.html read it, follow the instructions carefully and give it a go, what is the result?  It is  also mentioned in another post that you may have a bridge possibly between the RX and 5V pins but were not sure?  Sometimes a bridged joint is very hard to see with the naked eye, try looking at the board with a photographers loop in good light ( under fluorescent light, at night works well for some people ).
« Last Edit: April 01, 2013, 10:19:43 pm by elve96 » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 1
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Had this problem on my Windows machine. The problem was simply drivers. I had not installed the drivers for my Arduino yet.

Control Panel -> Device Manager

Right click on unknown device

Install drivers from location on my machine

Go to Arduino folder, select "drivers" subfolder.

Worked fine after that.
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: