Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: CO Alarm  (Read 2538 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi guys... new to the forum and new to Arduino... ok I could have sworn I posted this around 3am but then I must be dreaming because for the life of me I can't find my post. I am trying to connect a motorcycle air horn (12 volts) to my Arduino so that when a carbon monoxide sensor variable exceeds a predefined level it sends an output signal to complete a 12v connection to the horn and sounds an alarm loud enough for the whole house to hear. I know I can't supply 12v from the board but can I use an H-Bridge I have to control a stepper motor (don't know the number off hand since I'm not at home at the moment). I also have a relay that came with the horn. Can I just use a relay without and voltage coming back into the Arduino and frying it or a combination of both? I'm sure I may need some resistors in there somewhere just not sure of the basic layout. Right now I haven't received the CO detector yet since it is coming from China and may get here some time next year lol ... however in the meantime I do have some photo resistors, pots etc to use as input devices to write the basic program. I will be glad to provide more specific information later when I have it available to me but if anyone can nudge me in the right direction working with the few items I have I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!
Logged

Topsham, Vermont USA
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 23
Posts: 1755
... in The Woods In Vermont
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi, I'd seriously think about using optical isolation between the Arduino and the high-power stuff.

Could be relays like these:  http://goo.gl/3mXu0  (Also see the schematics on their pages)

Or do you own with opto-isolator chips. See http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/Popular-ICs and scroll down to the Opto stuff...


DISCLAIMER: Mentioned stuff from my own shop...
Logged

Regards, Terry King terry@yourduino.com  - Check great prices, devices and Arduino-related boards at http://YourDuino.com
HOW-TO: http://ArduinoInfo.Info

Queens, New York
Online Online
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2928
"Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most" -Ozzy Osbourne
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I know I can't supply 12v from the board but can I use an H-Bridge I have to control a stepper motor (don't know the number off hand since I'm not at home at the moment).

Why would you do that? Just use a relay. Use the arduino to trigger the relay to pick, and have the 12V wired to the common and the other connetion to the horn.

Test with a simple button or something else, if you get a signal the horn should activate.
Logged

Created Libraries:
NPV2 (NewPasswordV2),  TFT_Extension, OneWireKeypad, SerialServo.
Will provide libraries if asked in PM or forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks Hazard ... that's why I said "I also have a relay that came with the horn. Can I just use a relay without and voltage coming back into the Arduino and frying it" in my first post... it's been ages since I've messed with electrical components but I do remember the purpose of a relay is to use a smaller current (and wiring) to send a signal to switch on a higher current. Just couldn't remember if the relay might have any kind of back flow to the board. So it's as simple as a pinout signal to the relay?
Logged

Queens, New York
Online Online
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2928
"Of all the things I've ever lost, I miss my mind the most" -Ozzy Osbourne
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Yes it is that simple, just make sure you include a diode with that output, so that there is no back flow to the arduino.
Yes, there will be some back flow, because you are powering an induction coil and that can easily go back to the arduino if there is no protection.

Refer to this:
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.rc-float-flying.rchomepage.com/Schieppati/relay.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.rc-float-flying.rchomepage.com/Schieppati/switch.html&h=575&w=614&sz=61&tbnid=kHyZ81Sdu5HngM:&tbnh=90&tbnw=96&zoom=1&usg=___cJ8v52BkbNEl4q2jzvrmcH1C4Q=&docid=RG2MIHS9qpcXZM&hl=en&sa=X&ei=4FWlULWtHKTE0QGk_YGoCw&ved=0CEMQ9QEwAg&dur=0

WOW, that is a long one, sorry about that.
Logged

Created Libraries:
NPV2 (NewPasswordV2),  TFT_Extension, OneWireKeypad, SerialServo.
Will provide libraries if asked in PM or forum.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I believe I have some Schottky diodes around here ... would they be sufficient?
I also have some http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/diodes/ds28009.pdf
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 04:31:36 pm by brhyaa729 » Logged

Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 22
Posts: 1164
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

That diode will be fine.  It needs to have a Peak Reverse Voltage rating above the relay's coil voltage, and a Forward Current rating greater than the coil current.

In order to drive the relay directly from the Arduino, the relay coil voltage should be 5V (a 12V coil won't work) and the activation current (coil current) needs to be 40mA or less.

FYI - You don't need a microcontroller or programming if all you want to do is turn on/off an alarm based on the CO level.  smiley-wink    Assuming the CO sensor has an analog output, you can use an op-amp as a comparator and the same sort of driver/relay for the alarm.
Logged

the land of sun+snow
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 149
Posts: 2790
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If you google "gas sensors", you'll find many places to buy in the USA. Figaro makes many, and has
data online.You'll probably also have a 10X better idea of what you actually have bought. If you're
really lucky, China might include a datasheet.

Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks guys for the help ... I know the really simple solution would be just buy a CO Detector on Amazon but that would take all the "fun" out of it lol .... thanks again.
Logged

the land of sun+snow
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 149
Posts: 2790
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

If this is for your robot, then experimenting is fun.

Quote
haven't received the CO detector yet since it is coming from China

Gives me the willies.

If this is for your house, and you want to keep your family safe, you're better off going to Walmart or
Home Depot or the local hardware store, and buying an approved CO detector. I certainly wouldn't buy
something like this cut-rate from China for use in the baby's bedroom.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2012, 06:12:03 pm by oric_dan(333) » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No, not for any "real" protection ... I have a propane heater I use in the garage once in a while and I am the only one out there tinkering. I never let it burn more than 10 mins and always leave the door up a few inches just to be sure. Just more of a "tinker" thing.
Logged

the land of sun+snow
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 149
Posts: 2790
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Since it's you, it's ok, but we don't want no babies with blue lips and finger nails around here.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 26
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well between 1978 and now I've had 5 babies and have managed to not fry or gas any of them so I'm 0 in 5 in that category haha. I think it's great that you guys share your knowledge and we all enjoy "playing" with our Arduinos. Since I am new to this where do you guys prefer to order your parts? I'd like somewhere in the U.S.A. that is priced reasonably with fast shipping and good customer service. Of course I'd pay slightly more providing the last two criteria were exceptional.
Logged

Topsham, Vermont USA
Online Online
Edison Member
*
Karma: 23
Posts: 1755
... in The Woods In Vermont
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
where do you guys prefer to order your parts?

As you mentioned you don't get good, fast and cheap at once...

Paying for DHL/FEDEX (about $17 for a physically small order) will get you fast (2 to 5 days) from China.  Some Ebay sellers will do it.

DISCLAIMER: Mentioning stuff from my own shop...!!  Leave now if you want :-)

I am trying to provide Good, Cheap (on-the-Shenzhen-Street prices) and Fast-If-You-Want with http://YourDuino.com  PLUS lots of How-To on the http://ArduinoInfo.Info WIKI.   Plus a live (if aged) Engineer who answers Customers's questions. I'm having fun, being very busy, and making a little money added to Social Security so I can buy my wife an Iphone for Christmas. Don't tell her!

Seriously, please critique the WIKI, suggest new topics, and pass the link along. It's at about 2000 hits a day, which motivates me to keep on adding to it.
Logged

Regards, Terry King terry@yourduino.com  - Check great prices, devices and Arduino-related boards at http://YourDuino.com
HOW-TO: http://ArduinoInfo.Info

Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 7
Posts: 647
"In this house, we obey the Laws of Thermodynamics" Homer J. Simpson
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am a little off topic but, out of interest, how does a CO detector work?

I can figure out roughly how a smoke detector might work but telling the difference between CO and N2, O2, Ar, and CO2 seems like a neat trick.

Is is a chemical reaction, can the detector be used multiple times?
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Jump to: