Go Down

Topic: Deriving a voltage from LoL Shield that correlates with the LoL display (Read 476 times) previous topic - next topic

rsfc

I am a Arduino newbie - What I would like to do is derive a voltage, say 0-5v that correlates to what is displayed on the LoL Shield. I guess a DAC which converts 0-1023 to 0-5v. The big question is that I would like the the voltage to correlate with the display, so say if LED's are primarily lit on one side of the LoL shield the voltage will be lower and the voltage would be higher if they were primarily lit on the opposite field. If LEDs were randomly lit through the field there would be some correlation in the voltage output to the total LEDs lit. You can kind of think of it like the LEDs are all connected to a large resistor  ladder DAC. However, I suspect some digital output already exists in the code that maybe I can program as a analog output or even a digital output and use a chip for DAC? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!

johnwasser

Did you want to treat the 126 pixels of the LoL Shield as bits in a 126-bit number and  map that down to 10 bits (0-1023)?

If not, what mapping did you want between the roughly 8.5*10^37 patterns and the 1024 possible analog output levels?
Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

rsfc

johnwasser

So if you want to compress 126 bits down into 10...  I'd group the LEDs into sets of 13 (or maybe 14 since there are 9 rows of 14) and if there are more then 7 LEDs on, count that as a 1.

What code are you using to set the LEDs?  The loop that sets the LEDs is likely a good place to calculate how many LEDs are on in a row or column.
Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

rsfc