Go Down

Topic: CAN options (Read 868 times) previous topic - next topic

weird_dave

I'm toying with the idea of trying some CAN on the due. There appears to be 2 main options:
1) use the MCP2515/2551 combo. The 2515 looks 3v3 compatible but the 2551 doesn't.
2) use the CAN controller in the Due.

(1) might not be possible, has anyone tried it? I would have though this would be the easier method if it works.

I would want to be able to read various CAN messages, some at 10ms intervals, others slower. I would also want to send some at regular intervals (probably 10ms for the fastest). Is this feasible with either option? (I'm open to other options too).

Please assume I have zero CAN experience :)

AdderD

You might as well use the CAN controller built into the Due. You will need to provide a transceiver still. The 2551 transceiver is 5V and isn't likely to work properly with a Due. It might fry the Due if you provide it was 5V as it'll try to use 5V signalling back to the Due. Your better bet is the SN65HVD230 series transceivers. There are several choices - SN65HVD234 is a good choice.

Then, I maintain a CAN bus library for the Due: https://github.com/collin80/due_can

With that you should be on your way. You must keep in mind that CAN buses need to be terminated on both sides with 120 ohms of resistance. If your bus does not measure 60 ohms of resistance (or close) then you don't have it right yet. Obviously do this check with all the connected nodes turned off.

weird_dave

So it's not worth offloading the bitstuffing etc...? I've been using the wiznet 5500 for Ethernet and have got used to how easy going it is on Due resources :)
I have a small engine I want to play with, a mate is looking at using some off the shelf CAN kit but I'm not convinced it will be flexible enough, so the Due is my backup plan :D

AdderD