Go Down

Topic: Light sequence for 4 x 50 W halogen lights (240V) (Read 690 times) previous topic - next topic

lpersson

Hi.
I am very new to Arduino, have done some initial courses online after I bought the starter kit. The more I read the more confused I get. I am an artist and am practical minded. Also interested in electronics but am not so confident.
What I wonder is 2 things.

When I create my sketch for 4 halogen lights that will need to go on one after another, in a sequence, and then reverse, back and forth. I intend the light to go on for 1 sec and then off moving over to the next light and so on, with NO delay in between. The movement of light will create an old fashioned way of making an image move, like a flicker book, but here with lights instead.

I am uncertain on the CODE. I am uncertain on the Voltage, how to convert/use the Arduino (UNO) to be able to output the sequence to actual 4 halogen lights of 50W each / 240V power supply.

My thinking is that the sequence is fairly straight forward.
In reality (the analog world we live in) I see light 1 turns on, stays on for 1 sec, turn off and without delay shifts to light 2 that turns on for 1 sec and so forth until the 4th light when it goes on 1 sec, the off for part of a sec and then reverse back all the way to light 1.

I am also keen on building in a sensor, that allow the piece to stay in OFF mode whilst the room is empty (to save energy and bulbs).

How do I ground 4 lights?

Would I dare ask if I think the right way here; excuse me being novice. Actually doing the code completely makes my confidence non existent....
Am I anywhere on a right track and could anyone just advice on best way of getting on with coding as well as understanding voltage etc...

/*sensor with 4 leds to control 4 pins output to 4 halogen lights in a sequence with a sensor control*/

int sensorPin = 8;
int ledPin = 3;
int ledPin = 5;
int ledPin = 6;
int ledPin = 9

void setup()
{
  pinMode(sensorPin, INPUT);