Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Arduino to measure temp, pressure, liquid level (and report to network)  (Read 933 times)
Hong Kong
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello

I am working for a small systems developer and electronic prototyping house in Hong Kong and I am new to the world of Arduino. I don't even own one yet (while I've been looking at the available versions for quite a while).

I am now using an expensive (too expensive in fact) data acquisition system to measure temperature, pressure, liquid level (and flow rate) in a couple of dozen machines. It's all been put together in a rush and the wiring is a mess. As a backup I am using inexpensive temperature controllers for temperature alarms (ie. switch relay if temperature of 50C is exceeded).

I am now looking at replacing all of this mess with one Arduino on every machine. And connect them using standard LAN wiring.

The sensors are off the shelf and not too expensive:

The K-type thermocouples I am using now only cost a few dollars since we don't need it to be too accurate, and I am looking at replacing them with the LM35DZ or DS18B20. I've been experimenting with them for a while.

For liquid level I am using the eTape, which is in fact the most expensive part (well, maybe except the DAQ system from National Instruments and their expensive software which I am still using in trial mode).

For pressure I have both on board, the MPXV7025 pressure sensor, which can show from about -3 to +3 PSI, and the MXP2100 which is from slightly above 0 PSI to almost 15 PSI. I'd prefer the MXP7025 for low cost and ease of use and the fact it gives me negative pressure, but unfortunately it requires one of the ports exposed to the outside of our tanks (which has a lot of down sides).