Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Best wireless shield for Arduino UNO (for pulling data through a WiFi network) ?  (Read 583 times)
London, United Kingdom
Pay attention to what users do, not what they say
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi guys.

I'm pretty new to Arduino and generally electronics (have been a fan since a kid but only now, after years and years, I've managed to transform my hobby into something interesting). Long story short I'm trying to find the best Wireless shield for an Arduino UNO board. The scope of my project is pretty simple. I want the Arduino board to access wirelessly my router and GET some data from an API (let's say every 4 maybe 5 hours - not important at this step).

My main concern is the hardware for now. I'm prototyping/playing right now with and Arduino UNO board and I'm searching for a Wireless Shield that could do the job. I don't fancy anything special for the moment (let's just say that some LEDs will light up on certain conditions). Either how my concern is the wireless shield. In your opinion, which is the best WiFi shield I can use?

Again, the task is really simple. I want to connect an Arduino board to a wireless network and ping the API on a regular basis (every few hours) to GET some data. Maybe it might sound easy for the most of you but before I dive into it I would really appreciate your input and advices.

Cheers
A.

P.S. The API would be widely available (so the goal is to make this work over any WiFi network - both secured and unsecured ones - most probably the secured ones would work after the user will configure the router pwd - any other thoughts are welcome)  smiley