Go Down

Topic: DIY Chl A fluorometer using arduino and bitscope (Read 410 times) previous topic - next topic

khoadley85

About a year ago I started playing around with the Arduino and LEDs with the general goal of making a DIY chlorophyll A fluorometer.  Since then I have made a fair bit of progress. I am utilizing the arduino to trigger a high powered Cree led to create a 150 usec pulse of light. The power source is a 12 volt/3 amp ac/dc power supply which is being regulated via a IRL 520 MOSFET. For fluorescence detection, I am using a large diameter photodiode and circuit board which delivers an analog signal to a BITSCOPE 10. I can control data acquisition by the bitscope (speed of 1-2 samples per usec.) with the arduino so as to ensure that data recording occurs at the proper moment. Currently I am utilizing the arduino IDE as well as the bitscope DSO software to control LED pulses and data acquisition. However, my future plan is to control both via a C++ based program utilizing the API libraries available for both bitscope and arduino.