Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: attachInterrupt, detachInterrupt, re-attachInterrupt  (Read 1431 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I'm now studying the function of interrupts...I need it for my prototype which deals with security..so I hve to enable, disable, and re-enable interrupts depending on the situation...

I was able to use the interrupt and execute the Interrupt Service Routine (ISR) properly...I was also able to detach the interrupt using detachInterrupt function...

When I don't trigger the Interrupt Pin of Arduino once the interrupts are detached, the ISR is not executed (as expected). When the interrupt is re-attached using attachInterrupt (without triggering the interrupt pin during the detachInterrupt), the ISR is NOT executed at all, only until I trigger the interrupt pin...

Now here's my problem, when I trigger the Interrupt Pin of Arduino while the interrupts are detached, ISR is not executed...but when I re-attach the interrupt using the attachInterrupt, the program executes the ISR right after attaching the Interrupt, even if I did not trigger the Interrupt Pin yet...

How can I stop the ISR from executing, everytime I re-attach the Interrupt? Help please...

Here's my ' experimental ' code in exploring Interrupt...

Code:
int pin = 13;
volatile int alarm = 0;

int x =0;
int cnt =0;

int new_count =0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(pin, OUTPUT);
  attachInterrupt(1, blink, FALLING);
  attachInterrupt(0, blink, FALLING);
}

void loop()
{
  if (alarm == 1){
    Serial.println("Intruder Alert!!!!");
    Serial.print("CNT=");
    Serial.println(cnt);
    Serial.println();
    delay(1000);
    alarm = 0;
    if(cnt>=5){
  /*********************************************
  If interrupt is triggered 5 times, interrupt will be disabled
  **********************************************/
      detachInterrupt(0);
      detachInterrupt(1);
      Serial.println("\n\nInterrupts disabled.");
      new_count++;