Go Down

Topic: Sensor controlled switch with delay timer? (Read 685 times) previous topic - next topic

Aviator1

I am very new to programming and am trying to operate a switch that is turned on for a second or two and then off again after a proximity type sensor is triggered, I want the program to ignore the proximity sensor for a set time after it senses movement so as not to keep restarting the process. Any help will be appreciated

johnwasser

Code: [Select]

static unsigned long StartOfTimer = 0;
const unsigned long IntervalInMilliseconds = 5000;  // 5 seconds

// When the interval starts:
StartOfTimer = millis();

// When you want to be sure the interval has expired:
if (millis() - StartOfTimer > IntervalInMilliseconds) {
    // interval has passed
}
Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

Aviator1

Thanks John, I will try to implement this  :)

MichaelMeissner

Dec 06, 2012, 01:55 pm Last Edit: Dec 06, 2012, 02:03 pm by MichaelMeissner Reason: 1
I suspect it probably won't apply to your project, but the 32-bit long millis() function wraps around every 49.7 days or so.  If you used micros() which gives you time in microseconds instead, that would wrap around in a little over 1.15 hours.  However, if you eventually need to write a long running application, you would need to handle the wrap around.

johnwasser

I suspect it probably won't apply to your project, but the 32-bit long millis() function wraps around every 49.7 days or so.  If you used micros() which gives you time in microseconds instead, that would wrap around in a little over 1.15 hours.  However, if you eventually need to write a long running application, you would need to handle the wrap around.

The code, as written, works across the wrap-around.

If switched to micros() it would still work across the wrap-around.

If you doubt it, do the math yourself (like I did years ago). :)