Go Down

Topic: Encoder into Arduino Uno (Read 122 times) previous topic - next topic

roger290

Hello:
I am new to this forum. I am working with some high school students building a car to run in a competition. The car needs to go a distance and stop. We are using an Arduino Uno to control the car. We have a Velleman VMA03 shield controlling the motor and using the encoder below attached to the rear wheel for the distance feedback.

https://www.amazon.com/Signswise-Incremental-Encoder-Dc5-24v-Voltage/dp/B00UTIFCVA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480958546&sr=8-1&keywords=encoder+600

The encoder is hooked into pins 4 and 5 of the Arduino. We are having problems getting the proper counts out of the encoder. When we turn the wheel by hand the counts are close to 600 counts per revolution. If we tell the program to run 1200 counts the wheel runs about 15 seconds before it stops. The motor is running slow so we are not over speeding the encoder.

My background is Mechanical Engineering. I am good at the mechanical stuff and I am terrible at the electrical stuff. Any help would be great.

Thanks
Roger

cattledog

To get assistance, you will have to provide both your code, and a diagram of how you have the encoder connected.

Post your code in between the code tags  found at the </> in the tool bar. It should appear in a white box like this
Code: [Select]
your code will be here

If you can reduce your program to a simplified version which demonstrates the problem it would be helpful.

MarkT

Pins 4 and 5 don't support direct interrupts - you can use pin change interrupts however.

You never want to read a high resolution encoder except by interrupts, they are far too fast to handle
in software (10,000 transitions a second is not difficult to achieve).
[ I will NOT respond to personal messages, I WILL delete them, use the forum please ]

roger290