Go Down

Topic: Due Help on direct port access with PWM (Read 131 times) previous topic - next topic

btt92

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum. So, recently I purchased the Arduino Due after months of tinkering with the Uno. When using the Uno, port manipulation was a bit easier using DDR and PORTx. When I made the jump from an AVR board to an ARM, I was stuck on how to do port manipulation for the Due. I first started with a simple blinking LED program to understand how to set and clear bits. The simple code is shown below.

Code: [Select]
void setup() {

REG_PIOB_PER = (1<<25);  //Can also use bit mask - 0x1<<25
  REG_PIOB_OER = (1<<25);  //Can also use REG_PIOB_OER = PIO_OER_P25

}

void loop() {

REG_PIOB_SODR = (1<<25);
  delay(2000);
  REG_PIOB_CODR = (1<<25);
  delay(2000);

}

Now I want to write a program that will use PWM on the LED. After a little research, I found that each I/O pin can have be multiplexed to have two functions. What is multiplexing and how can it be done in a simple example? Also, how can I write a program to set up PWM using low-level programming?

ard_newbie

Hello btt92

[quote ]

I found that each I/O pin can have be multiplexed to have two functions[/quote]

You have the explanation of this chap 9.3 of Sam3x datasheet.

For PWM programming, here is an example :

Code: [Select]

void setup () {

// PWM Set-up on pin PC7 (Arduino Pin 39): see Datasheet chap. 38.5.1
  // Select Instance=PWM; Signal=PWMH2 (channel 2); I/O Line=PC7 (P7, Arduino pine 39, see pinout diagram) ; Peripheral=B

PMC->PMC_PCER1 |= PMC_PCER1_PID36;                   // PWM on

REG_PIOC_ABSR |= PIO_ABSR_P7;                        // Set PWM pin perhipheral type B

REG_PIOC_PDR |= PIO_PDR_P7;                          // Set PWM pin to an output

REG_PWM_ENA = PWM_ENA_CHID2;                         // Enable the PWM channel 2 (see datasheet page 973)