Problem getting EthernetShield working

Hello, I'm new to the Arduinos and have problems getting the Ethernet SHield working.
HW: Mega 2560, new Ethernetshield with W5100 (Connector left, reset button and regulator left, SD right, LEDs up right)
As far as I understand, I only have to use eg. the FILE->Examples->ETHERNET->DhcpAdressPrinter.

When I do that, no connection to the Router, Power is on.
Ethernetcable plug in: Link, 100M, Fulld light up. every some seconds LINK goes off while RX light on, TX stays off.
So, looks like there is connection. But no message on the SERIAL Monitor, and not visible in the network (checked with nmap), No IP is given out.

Do I have to configure something?
Any other idea but : give it back, you are to stupid?

Any help apprechiated,
Ingo

dhcp depends on a dhcp server to issue an address. It will take a couple minutes to timeout, but it should timeout.

Try this. You don't even have to change the ip. This is designed to test the SPI connection to the w5100. If it displays 192.168.2.2, the SPI connection to the w5100 is working.

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>

byte mac[] = {  0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED };
IPAddress ip(192,168,2,2);

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);

// disable SD card if one in the slot
  pinMode(4,OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(4,HIGH);

Serial.println("Starting w5100");
  Ethernet.begin(mac,ip);

Serial.println(Ethernet.localIP());
}

void loop() {
}

Spell check! :slight_smile:

My apology for any typos. :roll_eyes:

First of all,Thanks for reply. I used your code (SurferTim), but I get:

Starting w5100

as answer. Does that mean, there ist an SPI error? No SPI Bus-connection? if so, I will have to look with an oscilloscope.

To clarify, when I use the above described EthernetSHield, do I only have to stick it to the mega2560 or do I have to make any more connections or something else?