How does this LED/LED string work?

I've been trying to figure out this string of battery powered Xmas lights... it's this string specifically http://www.lamplust.com/multi-color-battery-string-lights-wtimer-functions-battery-p-16808.html

I'm a bit new to circuitry in general, but I'm pretty confused about how this string operates — specifically the fact that there three wires connected to the board with the microprocessor (which controls the blink patterns). Why 3 wires? Why do two share the same terminal on a single LED in this photo? I'm guessing the whole thing is two strings braided together but I just can't wrap my head around how these are wired.

Also, could someone explain to me why when I remove the board between the power source (three AAA batteries) and the lights, and just connect the lights to the power source directly — nothing works? (I'm still wrapping my head around how transistors work, but I'm guessing I need one in place for the circuit to work?) If I connect a power source and ground to the contacts on a single LED in the string it will light up, but only that one and not the rest it's connected to...

Maybe a full explanation is a lot to ask for, so even being pointed in the right direction would help greatly — thanks!

awesomerobot:
I'm a bit new to circuitry in general, but I'm pretty confused about how this string operates — specifically the fact that there three wires connected to the board with the microprocessor (which controls the blink patterns). Why 3 wires?

I'm guessing the lights don't all turn on/off at the same time, there's really two or three strings woven together.

awesomerobot:
Also, could someone explain to me why when I remove the board between the power source (three AAA batteries) and the lights, and just connect the lights to the power source directly — nothing works?