Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: CAN BUS shield, Arduino Uno and a Motec M400 ECU  (Read 1719 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Arduino and I am looking for some help with my current project. I have an arduino uno, the spark fun can bus shield (https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10039) and a Motec M400 ECU powering a car. The ECU has a built in CAN bus which I would like to use to read messages from the ECU with the arduino and display them on an LCD display. I would like to display certain parameters such as speed, rpm, etc on the LCD readout. How should I go about doing this?

I have wired the CAN Bus of the ECU to the the can bus shield and I have connected the shield to my arduino but I don't have any code to test the setup.

I am going to need some code that will read the CAN messages from the ECU and then some code to display these messages on the LCD.

Where should I start, is there a sketch I could use to start reading CAN messages from my ECU?

Thanks for the help.

Let me know if you need any more information.

View Profile

I found this sample code: http://skpang.googlecode.com/files/Canbus_v4.zip

The problem is that this seems to be for an OBD2 car. I am connecting to a third party ECU. Where could I get some code that would simply monitor the CAN bus to see what messages are being received?

Thanks

View Profile

Nobody has any idea of a sketch that would allow me to monitor incoming CAN data?

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Tesla Member
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile

There are people writing CAN code for the Due, maybe they have some idea.

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,131096.0.html

______
Rob

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

View Profile

Yeah but I need to eventually put this on an Uno or a mini.

View Profile

Bump

View Profile